Christmas entertainment at Nyora Raceway provides a great night for all

Nyora Raceway have held their last event before Christmas on Saturday night and families and fans were entertained on track with the racing and with the Christmas shenanigans of the Grinch and Santa Claus whilst one lucky fan was given a bicycle from Nyora Raceway Inc.

In racing the main events were the visiting Sprintcars and the Junior Sedan Promotional Association series round.

The Sprintcars were fast, very fast and the eventual winner Shane Steenholdt scorched around the track in 13.5 seconds during the final. Steenholdt from Bairnsdale won the feature event that originally ran seventeen laps without stoppage from Steven Horton, Alistair Bastian, Adam Greenwood, and Peter Laity. Earlier Steenholdt won two heat races and David Dennison one.

Junior Sedan competition in the Top Star and New Star Junior Sedan series events for Speedway Sedan Australian Junior 1500cc cars was frenetic especially in the Top Stars. Alexandra and District Speedway club members Bree Simpson, River Paterson and his brother Linken Paterson won the three heat races in races that had the fastest kids getting around mostly in the low 18 second times and at their fastest in the high 17 second bracket.

In the final the Paterson brothers went at it head-to-head at the front after starting from the very front row. The Junior of the two being River at just fourteen years of age, held the lead most of the race as they worked their way through traffic on their way to a outstanding finish where Linken passed his brother on the last lap to take the win with Bree Simpson in third spot, Kiarna Barton fourth and Lachie Bull in fifth.

Continuing on his dominance of the New Star class so far this season Cruz Farrell from Pakenham took his third successive feature win in the class. He has won both events at Nyora so far this season and the first show at Alexandra last weekend. Farrell won the three qualifying races and then the final where Tyson Heaphy finished in second place with James Peacock, Charlotte Leerson and then Jaylen Knight rounding out the top five.

Junior competition continued into the Junior Standard Saloon class also. Nyora members Harry Cecil from Poowong who won two heats and Chase Ingram from Warragul won another. Cecil in the final was given a run for the trophy in the final from Beau Stuchbery and Jack Braz. Eventually Cecil won from Stuchbery, Braz, Ingram, and Cooper Joynson.

Further Junior Sedan competition came from the Victorian Speedway Council Junior 1200cc Sedan class. Braiden Webster from Wonthaggi and Bryce Leek took heat race victories before Webster picked up the win from Leek, Ella Sheedy, Xander Baxter and Chase Doherty.

Trish Dike a former two-time Victorian champion in Ladies Standard Saloons and the current back-to-back champion Ally Morrison then shared a heat race win each in before going head-to-head in the final. A great battle between the two lasted ten laps when the chequered flag resulted in Morrison winning from Dike, Stacey Sheedy, and Kylie Lansdown the last of the finishers.

Kacey Ingram, Wayne Sheerman and then Rhys Lansdown won the three Open Standard Saloon heat races with Sheerman reducing lap times to below the eighteen second mark at his fastest. Starting from first position in the feature event Sheerman held Ingram at bay who was pressured by Lansdown for all but the last lap of the race when Brodie Ardley snatched a spot away from him. Sheerman the winner from Ingram, Ardley, Lansdown, and Matt Leek.

Rounding out all the action was the Sports Sedan class. The second fastest class of the night Lee Beach from Lysterfield was able to record a lap of 16.9 during the qualifiers. Beach, then Caleb Lincoln and Beach once more, one the heat races. In the feature event Daniel Knight and Beach began from the front of the field however it would be Lincoln a winner last season at Nyora who would come through from the second row and take the big win. Lincoln beat Beach, Knight, Ray Gould, and Felicity Roycroft.

Nyora Raceway Inc wish all its members, supporters and paying public the best for the Christmas Holiday season and hope to see you all again in the new year.

Nyora would like to thank this season’s business partners;
B & B Retainer Walls
Burson Autoparts
Cecil Cartage
Earthlink Electrical
EZ Print
Highline Racewear
John Duff & Co – Shell
Magnet Towing
Membrey’s Transport
Miles Mechanical
ML Automotive
Mornington Motors
Napier Photography
Ramsdale Wreckers
Redde Race Parts
Rip It Up Earthworks
Ripper Sticker
Russell Steel
Shannon’s Insurance
Victory Lane Racegear

Ends Release.

Written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist