Hot Rods headline Rushworth Speedway with Ray Welsh Memorial

This Saturday night Rushworth Speedway heats up locals with another ripper show with the popular SDAV Hot Rods back in town along with all the local heroes in club sedan action, the prestigious Ray Welsh Memorial for Hot Rods will crown a new winner whilst the ‘Total Tools’ supported Junior Sedans feature race will continue the exciting season long tussle between the youngsters.

The Hot Rods are in a busy part of their season having just competed in the Latrobe Valley last Saturday night and moving to the Goulburn Valley this weekend. Competition is strong with a number of equipment upgrades and driver development putting new names up against accomplished drivers at the head of the pack.

Michael Coad from Victoria’s South West Coast leads the fray after winning at Rosedale Speedway last weekend and he will find stiff competition from the likes of Stan Marco Snr, Jamie May, Dean West, Russell Hovey and Shannon Meakins.

Due to the long friendship and on track competition Stan Marco Snr shared with the late Ray Welsh, this is a race he would dearly love to win. The veteran is quietly confident of a strong result. “Everybody knows this is the event, yes there is a Victorian title and the Legends Cup, however Ray was the man, I just hope everybody has a good night and that we can do as well as we are capable of and you never know, we could be holding that trophy in honour of Ray.” Shared Marco.

In the Junior Sedan’s feature Tristan McGraw now finds himself at the top of the tree after picking up a win over Lachie Fitzpatrick at the last show. Fitzpatrick will be keen to climb back ahead of McGraw however the result now is anybody’s guess. Add to the frame the Cecil boys Josh and Luke, Jordan Simmonds and Daniel Smith and the competition will be frantic.

Peter Fitzpatrick returns to Open Saloon competition and he hopes to be instantly in the frame when it comes to the podium results with Paul Lamb and Thomas Conboy just some of the tough competition in the class on Saturday night.

Production Sedan racing continues to be a tight had fought battle and you have to ask yourself, whose going to win this weekend? It is just so hard to pick. Mark Cecil is due for a win you would have to think however so is Geoff Lee and Ian Wilson. The Hutchins lads Bevan and Shane will have something to say as will Leigh Jeffery and others.

Finally in Ladies Saloon action Chloe Lamb continues to set the bar and the girls around her keep her on her toes. Belinda Chalcraft, Kelly Lamb, Felicity Roycroft and the Hodge girls amongst those in the thick of the action. Could Saturday night be the night that a shuffle up occurs, we all look forward to the action coming our way.

Racing begins from 4pm with entry costs $25 per adult, aged pensioners are $15, kids 12 to 16 are $12.50 each and under the age of 12 is FREE, whilst a family of 2 adults and 2 kids 12 to 16 is $60

The Goulburn Valley Auto Club would like to thank the following supporters:
Super Balance Automotive –Shepparton
WG Panels – Rochester
Provac Poultry Services – Bendigo
Bourke Fencing – Bendigo
Kyabram Motor Wreckers – Kyabram
The Rushworth Hotel – Rushworth
Kyabram Bearings – Kyabram
Autobarn Shepparton
Marty Turpin Mechanical – Tatura
Ipta Fibreglass – Geelong
Ross Adams Cartage Contractor – Rochester
Rushworth Bakery – Rushworth
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
Michel Signs – Shepparton
Sonaray Lighting – Melbourne
The McIvor – Bendigo
Superior Concrete & Construction – Bendigo
A1 Water Supplies – Tatura

Phil Jenkins – 3
Dean West – 4
Stan Marco Snr – 5
Jamie May – 8
Vaughn Matthey – 12
Kali Hovey – 22
Mick Lee – 23
Russell Hovey – 25
Thomas Marco – 27
Michael Coad – 55
Shannon Meakins – 83
Glenn Lawless – 99

Peter Fitzpatrick – 11
Reece Harris – 16
Mark Bergman – 31
Braiden Simmonds – 36
Scott O’Keefe – 37
Brad Simmonds – 39
Thomas Conboy – 56
Paul Lamb – 73
Garry Gapes – 84

Geoff Lee – 5
Mark Cecil – 7
Shane Hutchins – 10
Bevan Hutchins – 18
Ian Wilson – 19
Leigh Jeffery – 29
Troy Britton – 41
Aaron Bacon – 57
Scott Smith – 58
Tyler Gahan – 60
Neil Johnson – 69
Noel Lacey – 155

Chloe Lamb – 2
Belinda Chalcraft – 15
Leeanne Hodge – 51
Kelly Lamb – 77
Nicole Gapes – 84
Chelsea Hodge – 95
Linette Moore – 104
Felicity Roycroft – 165
Pauline Martin – 155
Lachie Fitzpatrick – 1
Josh Cecil – 6
Luke Cecil – 7
Jordan Simmonds – 20
Tristan McGraw – 38
Daniel Smith – 58

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist