Huge Wingless Sprint field for Drouin Speedway this Sunday, something for everybody on the track

This Sunday Drouin Speedway provides motorsport fans with action for the second last show of the season with the Wingless Sprints putting together a huge twenty-seven car line-up for the fifth round of the Gippsland Wingless Sprint series. Also on the program is the annual Ladies Standard Saloon feature and a standing start feature event for the Open Standard Saloons.

In Wingless Sprint competition many of Gippsland’s favourites and some new fresh young gun talent making their way forward in the sport have nominated to do battle. Blaine Densley, Ben Hodge, and Thomas McDonald have all been figuring in the podium results recently up and down Gippsland and they have signified that they are the classes future in doing so. Throw in names like round one winner Ricky Mills, Wayne Logue also a winner this season, local racer Scott Iron’s, Jake Warren, Kim Gosling, another local Travis Evans, and veteran gentleman Peter Logue and you have a ripper line-up despite missing out another eight other names to keep an eye on.

Evans is quick around the demanding Drouin circuit, the track though will be at it’s most pristine condition with no sun beating down on the track sitting in the old quarries of Drouin West. Racing at Drouin is technical, drivers cannot afford to lose position and have to force the issue to find a way forward. Passing is at a premium unless you have something up your sleeve that others do not, or mistakes ahead come your way.

In the standing start Open Standard Saloon racing for the day Jeff Blencowe, Leigh Gooding, Mark Miles, Chris Miles, Andrew Miles, Kacey Ingram and the quickly improving Darwyn Lee are all competitors in the mix for the podium whilst Blencowe, Mark Miles and Andrew Miles have been figuring in the opportunity for winning finishes at Drouin this season and look the more likely.

Unlimited Sedans and Sports Sedans are trying to secure nominations to avoid competing together as Open Sedans which at this stage looks likely. Unlimited Sedan entrants include Hans Lovski, Leigh Gooding, Troy Hutchison, Allan Ward, and Mick Evans whilst the Sports Sedans include Troy Glassborow, Gavan Dorain, Trish Dike, and Bernie Franklin.

Junior Standard Saloons have an upcoming state title at Nyora Raceway and much of the classes competition have elected not to compete this Sunday in order to preserve their race car from damage before title Saturday. Drouin members Cooper Joynson, Dylcan Sweet and Zoe Hunt along with Nathan Miles are keen to skid though along with Jack Braz who along with Miles is a podium favourite for the upcoming title.

The Ladies Standard Saloon feature event has attracted a handy field of competitors with the likes of Caroline Allen, Stacey Sheedy, Maddison Miles, Michelle George, and first adult start competitor Bree Walker all listed to compete. Allen is the most likely to figure at the front of the field as a top five Victorian driver after her result at the Ladies title this season. Difficult can throw up tough scenario’s though, especially if you get the exit to turn four slightly wrong.

Gates open from 8:00am. Racing from 11am

Entry will cost $20 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $15 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 will cost $50.

Track is at 140 Main Jindivick Road, Jindivick.

General enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133.

Drouin Speedway Club acknowledge and thank these wonderful supporters.
Alberni Engineering
Baw Baw Shire
Bowens Pakenham
Bunyip Bakery
Bunyip Motors
Bunyip Tyre Service
Drouin Tyre and Battery Service
Elite Cranes and Transport
Image Worx Photography
Keena Fencing
Latrobe Waste and Recycling
Leigh and Anne Gooding
Mepstead Lawyers
Miles Mechanical
Melbourne IT Support
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Napier Photography
Old School Super Store
Pakenham Radiators
QuickTime Automotive
Railway Hotel
Random Panda Photography
Scott Irons
STR8 Bricklaying
TJE Fabrication
TNT Autos
Total Autos Pakenham
Visual Signage Solutions
Wilkar Constructions

John Rotheram – Victoria 3
Andrew Coon – New South Wales 14
Wayne Logue – Victoria 16
Blaine Densley – VX 20
Thomas McDonald – Victoria 20
Ricky Mills – VX 21
Ben Shaw – Victoria 27
Michael Loxton – Victoria 40
Jeremy Pearson – VX 40
Glen Harris – VX 44
Daryl Coon – VX 46
Scott Irons – Victoria 52
Jake Warren – VX 58
Kim-Loong Gosling – VX 68
Declan Robinson – Victoria 69
Aron Lawrence – Victoria 70
Ben Hodge – VX 74
Travis Evans – VX 77
David Anderson – Victoria 78
Matt Tuckett – VX 81
Marcus Fraser – Victoria87
Esther Thomsen – VX 88
Renae Eastham – Victoria 88
Scott Cole – VX 93
Peter Logue – Victoria 98

Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Mitch Blencowe – Drouin 10
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Mark Miles – Nyora 12
Justin Prins – Nyora 15
Chris Miles – Nyora 18
Aaron Evans – Drouin 31
Andrew Miles – Nyora 34
Justin Cadman – Nyora 39
Colin Parlby – Nyora 40
Kacey Ingram – Nyora 43
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Ty Kerton – Bairnsdale 80
Stuart Barkway – Bairnsdale 83

Stacey Sheedy – Drouin 4
Airielle Wollmer – Nyora 15
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Erin Mitchell – Rosedale 19
Sharlene Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Michelle George – Nyora 34
Tasharni Murray – Drouin 48
Bree Walker – Rosedale 50
Melissa van Strien – Nyora 55 (NY)
Caroline Allen – Nyora 55 (N)

Hans Lovski – Drouin 10
Allan Ward – Rosedale 11
Shane Brown – Drouin 23
Mick Evans – Nyora 31
Leigh Gooding – Alexandra 41
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 74

Troy Glassborow – Drouin 16
Trish Dike – Nyora 37
Gavin Dorain – Drouin 49
Bernie Franklin – Nyora 52

Cooper Joynson – Drouin 6
Nathan Miles – Nyora 12
Brodie Robertson – Nyora 23
Noah Greaves – Bairnsdale 24
Jack Braz – Rosedale 42
Dyclan Sweet – Drouin 81
Zoe Hunt – Drouin 95

Ends release.

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist