Laity, Thomas, Devine and Adams the winners at Bairnsdale Speedway

Bairnsdale Speedway Association held the second last of this season’s race dates on Saturday night (25th March) with the always popular Sprintcar category in competition along with local heroes from the Standard Saloon, Division 2 Hot Rods and Limited Sportsman also having a skid.

With a smaller than regular field of Sprintcars available this weekend drivers competed in a time trial, then two heats and a feature event with new Victorian champion Nigel Laity continuing his impressive recent run in claiming the top result in the time trial before picking up a qualifying heat race victory. His uncle Peter also won a heat race leading every lap in his victory before Nigel Laity led every lap in the final on his way to the chequered flag in front of Alistair Bastian, and Dillon Siely.

Bobby Devine continued his dominance of the Division 2 Hot Rod class at Bairnsdale Speedway with a fine showing once again. He didn’t have it all his way with Troy Hutchison who also assists as a scrutineer at Gippsland Speedways winning the second and third heat races whilst Devine won the first. With less than a second between them Devine then won the final from Hutchison, Lakes Entrance racer Fraser Crittenden, Robert Tatterson and Ben Crittenden rounding out the top five results.

Also in Open Wheel competition the Limited Sportsman had a dash around the track on Saturday with Darren Adams and Mark Both the club President both winning in the heat races. Adam’s claimed two wins whilst Both the one victory. Adam’s then won the final in front of Both and David Knight in third place.

Josh Thomas claimed another feature race win in the Standard Saloon class against mostly local competition. Leigh Gooding, Thomas, Don Fyfe and then Thomas a second time all won heat races before Thomas led every lap in the final to claim the win against Steven Dadswell, Fyfe, Andrew Cormack and Nigel Frew.

The last meeting of the season will be held on Sunday the 9th of April during Easter with the VSC Sprintcars, Gary Bowden Cup for Wingless Sprints, Keith Astrella Memorial for Compact Speedcars, the third round of the Junior Standard Saloons series plus New South Wales drivers in Restricted Sedan Association competition.

Bairnsdale Speedway Association would like to thank these wonderful supporting partners;
A1 Trailers
Active Sound Systems
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
Aussie Septic Solutions
Bairnsdale Autobarn
Bairnsdale Automotive
Bairnsdale Bearings & Industrial
Bairnsdale RSL
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Service Centre Bairnsdale
Buchan Towing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roof Restorations
East Gippsland Locks and Keys
East Gippsland Plumbing and Drainage
East Vic Hydraulics
Eastern Signs & Designs
Egee Printers
Eye Care Plus
EZ Print
Gillicks Busline
Gippsland Treated Pine
Gippsland Truck Centre
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Kennedy Trailers
Logue’s Autowreckers
M&S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations Pty Ltd
Napier Photography
Patties Food
Phaselink Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Automotive
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull
Todd Plumbing Supplies
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gasfitting
Westpoint Motors
WGI Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

Ends Release

Media written by DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist