Mid-Western Speedway hosts its first meeting of this season, Saturday

A big day of racing is scheduled and generating excitement for this Saturday at Mid-Western Speedway in Darlington with day one of the Victorian Speedway Council Junior 1200cc Sedan title headlining action that includes the Golden Helmet annual event for Standard Saloons, Production Sedans, Hot Rods and the national Junior 1500cc Sedans also.

With the Junior 1200cc Sedans holding a two day state title that concludes on Sunday at the same track under the management of the Daylesford Drivers Association, day one will be extremely important to accumulate qualifying points for feature title race position and to stay out of danger and be able to compete on the Sunday. Arthur Hutchinson is the number driver as far as race results have determined this season, however Braidan Webster from Wonthaggi, Billy McBride, Ella Sheedy from Bunyip, Riley Taylor, Bryce Leek from Wangaratta, Chase Doherty, and Xander Baxter are other drivers to keep an eye on as a first ever Victorian champion for this class under the Victorian Speedway Council governance is crowned.

Standard Saloon racing in the Golden Helmet will also be strong with the likes of Luke King, Austin Chivers, Ashley and Aaron Cormack, Nathan Hutchins, Cody McCabe, Lachie Chivers, Aaron Meakins, Jacob Head and Bailey Sinclair all in the field. Meakins is the most credentialled in the field whilst McCabe is in great touch after last weekend at Hamilton as is Austin Chivers and Sinclair. King has been very consistent this season and attention should be paid to him.

Shannon Meakins is the lead driver in the Hot Rod class however one of Colac’s favourite’s Eddie Ivermee will be keen to win in front of many family and friends. Brendan Roberts and Tony Green are couple other drivers to take interest in.

In Production Sedans John Calderwood, Shaun Queale, Steven Aldridge, and Dean Hughes are just some of the drivers nominated that could feature in the podium results on Saturday. Queale normally an announcer for DMT Sports Media will be racing this time and has done the hard work in organising the drivers to nominate, it would be fitting for Mortlake Speedway Club adopted son to take a podium spot.

In the national Junior 1500cc Sedan class a handful of experienced Top Star competitors are nominated and a few more developing New Stars. Jayden Lock, Pary Das, Blake Glynn, Miller Throckmorton from Colac, Jackson Warrener, and James Peacock are all drivers to look for at the front of their fields.

Gates for competitors open at 8am and to the public at 10am Racing begins at 11:30 with a 4 to 5pm finish planned. No Eftpos on facility, Cash only, No BYO Alcohol and No fires to be lit around the track. Canteen open from 10am.

For general enquiries about the Speedway contact Paul on 0400 565 014

Admission will cost adults 15years and over $20 and aged and disabled pensioners $20, A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 15 or a Junior driver competing on the night aged 16, costs $45 dollars. Children between the age of 10 to 15 or a Junior competing driver are $10, Children Under the age of ten are free.

Mortlake Speedway Club would like to thank the following for their support.
Brooklyn Car Sales – Wendouree
Mortlake Roadhouse
Camperdown Truck & Ag
Gilberts Truck & Tractor Service – Camperdown
O’Leary Ag Contracting, Camperdown
PWS Fabrications – Geelong
The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool
West Vic Tyres – Mortlake
Olsson Timing Services
Camperdown Auto Pro
Barkley Waste Collections – Colac

Libby Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 4
Braidan Webster – Alexandra 5
Rebecca Johnstone – Horsham 7
Ty Claridge – Goulburn Valley 8
Andrew Mitchell – Nagambie 11
Billy McBride – Alexandra 13
Bella Hartup – Daylesford 18
Ella Sheedy – Drouin 21
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Riley Taylor – Daylesford 22
Bryce Leek – Drouin 21
Chase Doherty – Nyora 31
Ryder Taylor – Nyora 43
Eliza Taylor – Daylesford 52
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 58
Xander Baxter – Nagambie 69
Amiley Botheras – Daylesford 77
Holly Hutchinson- Daylesford 80
Jess O’Donnell – Nyora 96

Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Darren Fitzgerald – Portland 16
Luke King – Nyora 16
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Sam Rundell – Portland 24
Nathan Hutchins – Hamilton 25
Charmaine Bryans – Nyora 26
Sammy Dunn – Portland 33
Cody McCabe – Portland 39
Greg Hutchins – Hamilton 41
Sean Oakes-Rogers – Ballarat 56
Joshua Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Dean Pedersen – Daylesford 73
Dave Chivers – Ballarat 78
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Aaron Meakins – Daylesford 82
Ian Walsh – Ballarat 86
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Bailey Sinclair – Ballarat 96
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97
Brad Sheppard – Ballarat 99

Phil Jenkins – 3
Eddie Ivermee – 6
Brendan Roberts – 7
Andy Kemp – 13
Kali Hovey – 22
Tony Green – 34
Shannon Meakins – 84
Allan Borradale – 93

Dean Hughes – Horsham 10
John Calderwood – Portland 13
Shaun Queale – Horsham 29
Steven Aldridge – Portland 35
Haydn Riley – Hamilton 50
Heath Riley – Hamilton 72
Mark Riley – Hamilton 75
Belinda Taylor – Ballarat 80

Jayden Lock – Simpson 4
Pary Das – Simpson 8
Blake Glynn – Avalon 8
Jake Bradley – Avalon14
Miller Throckmorton – Colac 18

Charlotte Leerson – Simpson 9
Cruz Carlin – Portland 12
Jackson Warrener – Portland 13
Tyler Wilson – Portland 17
Taylor Hose – Hamilton 22
James Peacock – Avalon 23
Claire Hose – Hamilton 57


Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist