Selwood Wins Alfa East Coast Challenge

A massive 38-car field participated in the Alfa East Coast Challenge races.
A massive 38-car field participated in the Alfa East Coast Challenge races.

Doug Selwood has defeated a massive 38-car field of Alfa Romeos to win the 2014 Alfa East Coast Challenge, held as part of Round 4 the Motor Racing Australia series at Wakefield Park on the weekend.

The huge contingent of Alfas participated in four races over the weekend; Selwood drove his Alfa GTV to third in Race 1 behind David Capraro and Alfio Musumeci, dropped to sixth in a wet Race 2, improved to second behind Musumeci in Race 3 and then beat Musumeci off the line before driving to the win in the 10-lap final.

The final race was marred by a nasty incident when Capraro’s Alfa 156 stalled on the grid. Most of the field safely passed him, but Paul Murray speared into the pit straight wall while trying to take evasive action. Fortunately Murray escaped unhurt but his Alfasud was eliminated from proceedings.

Stan Armstrong claimed a clean sweep of victories in the BMW Drivers Cup, but a vigorous battle raged behind him for the minor places. Brothers Chris and Sean Bell finished second and third respectively in Race 1, but Chris Bell was eliminated from Race 2 after a collision with David Levy.

Adrian Taranto capitalised, using the all-wheel-drive advantage of his Audi 80 Quattro to finish an excellent second ahead of Glenn Potter, as Sean Bell slipped down the order.

The sole remaining Bell brother recovered to second in Races 3 and 4, setting a new lap record along the way, while Taranto and Simon Mitchell finished third in the respective races.

The 2014 Modern Sports Cars season concluded with a pair of one-hour endurance races. Tony Bonanno and Shane Otten teamed up in a BMW M Coupe to win both races. Driving solo, Lou Iezzi drove his Mazda MX5 second in Race 1 ahead of the Brian Anderson/Gerry Murphy BMW M3.

In Race 2, Daniel Reynolds and Matt Stubbs finished second from the father-and-son team of Russell and Andy Harris.

Another father-and-son combination, David and Rob Viner sealed the title with consistent drives to fourth and sixth in the two races.

Endree Sade dominated the Super TT category, winning all three races in his BMW M3 turbo while Adam Burgess (Mazda RX7) and Mark Boudib (BMW M3 GTR) battled for second and third place.

Matilda Mravicic won the first two Mazda MX5 Cup races but failed to start the final with mechanical problems; Daniel Deckers capitalised to take victory from Stuart McFadyen and Steve Green.

John Walker won all three Mini races from Linda Devlin and Peter Crocker, while Aaron Cogger won three of the four Superkart races – the other was taken out by Paul Campbell.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist