Three big events at Alexandra Speedway this Saturday

Alexandra and District Speedway Club this weekend will play host to three huge feature events that include the Victorian title for Modified Sedans, ‘Dirt X Industries’ Sports Sedan Power Series and a Standard Saloon feature event ‘Belkblast Cup’ supported by Belkblast Engineering that has attracted around ninety entrants between the three classes to put on what is expected to be a super entertaining show for motorsport fans.

Modified Sedan racing considers itself the premier six-cylinder Sedan class in the nation and thirty plus entries are locked in for this Saturday with cars from right across Victoria along with a couple of interstate drivers will make up a terrific field that includes Alexandra members Brody Chrystie, Damien Miller, Kasey Garlick and Matt Nelson behind the wheels of their machines.

Nelson who was second behind Kye Walters from Geelong at last year’s title at Portland is looking to go one better on his home track whilst Chrystie was a winner at Alexandra earlier this season in the state series round and is locked in on the big championship result also.

Defending champion Walters is keen to hold on and go around for another twelve months as state champion however with the likes of Darren Cockerill, Graham West and Daniel Simpson all former state champions plus young guns Darcy Wilson, Dylan Barrow, and Tristan McGraw and inform competitors like Brad Wicks a winner at Redline this season and Wade McCarthy who also podiumed at Alexandra this year and former two times Western Australian champion Mick Johnson, the action is sure to keep fans up on their feet and fists pumping.

Victorian champion and Alexandra member Josh Service from the Yarra Valley leads the nominations in the Sports Sedan Power Series with an huge line-up of local stars that compete at Alexandra through the season up against a posse of drivers that are in town chasing the series overall results having competed throughout the state all season.

Service leads, brothers Damien and Brendan Miller with Damien coming off a win at Nyora on Saturday night, Father and son Ian and Jamie Thomsen, Jack Brennan third this past weekend at Nyora, Matthew Ismail, father and son Russell and Dale Smith, Steve Kershaw, Dennis Reid, Rob Garlick, Jackson Barneveld, Steven Loader, Daniel Eastham, Dave Donegan, Luke Fallon, mother and son Sarah and Rhys Meakins, and Lee Beach in a huge local contingent keen to defend home turf.

Some of the big stars from outside of the Alexandra club in town to do battle include Bradin Claridge, Paul Blake, Caleb Lincoln, Tommy McDonald, Zac Swanson, and Felicity Roycroft whom have all performed well in this season’s state series.

Amongst the entrants in the Standard Saloon field will be the current Victorian Champion Rhys Lansdown, former state champion Warrick Howie, multi-time state champion Scott Whittle, and Alexandra member and current state number two, Wayne Sheerman from the Easter Suburbs of Melbourne whilst Alexandra will also be represented by Cory Horter the club spokesperson for Standard Saloons.

This Saturday, racing begins from 2pm on Gordon Street Alexandra with a planned 10:30pm finish. Enquires can communicate via text to 0438 700 124 prior to race day up until 9.30pm, whilst the number is available for calls on race day.

Entrance will cost $60 for a family of two adults and three kids aged 10 to 16. An adult ticket is $25, Aged, and Invalid and children aged 10 to 16 is $10 with all children under the age of ten, free.

Alexandra and District Speedway club thank and acknowledge the following valuable supporters;
Alexandra & Yea Pre-Mix
Alexandra Panels & Towing
Beach Earthmoving
Bendigo Bank
Donnaz Underground
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Elite Racking Installs
Endeavor Petroleum
Exhaust Fix Lilydale
Fallon’s Bus Services
Highline Racewear
Ismail’s Building & Construction
LS Quarry
Matthew & Sons Drilling Services
Metro Tow
Outer Eastern Steel
Raslarr Engineering
Revegetation Victoria
S&N Builders
Smooth Suspension
Town & Country Tennis Courts
Tyrepower Alexandra
Valley Onsite
Victory Lane Racegear
Waverley Exhaust & Brake Centre
Yenckens Hardware Alexandra

John Baker – Ballarat 0
Andrew Dike – Daylesford 5
Darcy Wilson – Ballarat 5
Wade McCarthy – Mildura 6
Damien Miller – Alexandra 6
Darren Cockerill – Redline 11
Kasey Ferguson – Laang 11
Dale Hallett – Nyora 15
Dylan Barrow – Ballarat 17
Brad Wicks – Bendigo 17
Bella Rizzoli – Ballarat 18
Mick Johnson – Broome / Western Australia 32
Brody Chrystie – Alexandra 32
Daniel Simpson – Horsham 33
Cameron Dike – Nyora 37
Tristan McGraw – Corowa 39
Jamie Paull – Nyora 42
Shaun Thompson – Heartland 45
Kye Walters – Redline 46/ Victoria 1
John Dike – Drouin 51
Nathan Shortis – Wangaratta 55
Graham West – Bendigo 56
Matt Nelson – Alexandra 61
Kasey Garlick – Alexandra 62
Kayla Knox – Mount Gambier/South Australia 68
Scott Angus – Nyora 72
Ben Mannix – Goulburn Valley 79
David Barrie – Colac 82
Shane Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Jack Houlahan – Goulburn Valley 96
Rachel Pratt – Goulburn Valley 97
Daniel Patton – New South Wales 0

Josh Service – Victoria 1
Bradin Claridge – Goulburn Valley 5
Damien Miller – Drouin 6
Brendan Miller – Alexandra 6
Paul Blake – Ballarat 6
Shane Simpson – Nagambie 7
Corey Lincoln – Wangaratta 8
Caleb Lincoln – Wangaratta 9
Tommy McDonald – Mount Beauty 14
Zac Swanson – Ballarat 15
Lachlan Hamilton – Heartland 16
Ian Thomsen – Alexandra 22
Jason Berger – Hamilton 27
Bailey Kakoschke – Daylesford 30
Travis Thorne – Nagambie 30
Jack Brennan – Alexandra 34
Matthew Ismail – Alexandra 40
Russell Smith – Alexandra 48
Steven Kershaw – Alexandra 52
Zoey Salau – Swan Hill 52
Dennis Reid – Alexandra 54
Rob Garlick – Alexandra 63
Dale Smith – Alexandra 64
Jackson Barneveld – Alexandra 68
Steven Loader – Alexandra 69
Daniel Eastham – Alexandra 74
Dave Donegan – Alexandra 75
Brodie Montague – Ballarat 76
Jackson Lunt – Wangaratta 76
Luke Fallon – Alexandra 77
Jamie Thomsen – Alexandra 80
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 84
Sarah Meakins – Alexandra 85
Tim McKenzie – Goulburn Valley 85
Lee Beach – Alexandra 88
Jacob Blencowe – Drouin 90
Matty Chiminello – Goulburn Valley 92

Rhys Lansdown – Victoria 1
Josh Delarue – Wangaratta 5
Warrick Howie – Wangaratta 7
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 8
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Scott Whittle – Mount Gambier 11
Mark Miles – Nyora 12
Ally Morrison – Nyora 13
Justin Prins – Nyora 15
Micheal Fleming-Robertson – Corowa 18
Chris Miles – Nyora 18
Luke Collette – Alexandra 21
Aaron Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Nick Harnett – Rosedale 29
Owen Cecil – Nyora 30
Andrew Miles – Nyora 34
Bradley Hill – Nyora 36
Justin Cadman – Nyora 39
Kacey Ingram – Nyora 43
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Steven Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Dean Spring – Nyora 50
Brodie Ardley – Nyora 66
Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
Tyson Cull – Nyora 69
Phil Keep – Drouin 71
Cory Horter – Alexandra 73
Gus Argoon – Nyora 94

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist