Wangaratta City Raceway begins it’s season this Saturday night

After more than a year away from racing due to the effect the Covid Pandemic has had on the community, Wangaratta City Raceway fires up again this Saturday night with around seventy race drivers set to tear up the newly surfaced track. The Grand Prix Midgets are on hand for their Victorian State title, the Unlimited Sedan’s are visiting for their first time and the Compact Speedcars compete all with support from Wangaratta and the North East’s local heroes.

The hard working volunteers at the club have been preparing for this night for months and many hours of labour have gone in to upgrade the video tower, and Officials and Commentary area, Track entry and exit gates and a complete new track surface.

“Our volunteers have pulled together and people around the community have contributed support through the hours of labour they have been able to offer. Part curly pleasing was our sport’s national governing body supported us with grants and for that we thank them and Liz Weaver who has kept in regular contact with us.” Shared President John Patton.

The Victorian Grand Prix Midget state title is the big showcase event of the night with New South Wales and Victorian competitors set to do battle. In recent seasons Janelle Saville has been at the pointy end of the field in major events and she will be very hard to stop this weekend. Former champion driver of the class Ash Booker returns, and the likes of Chris Fowler, Travis Florrimell, Paul Perry, Alex Myers and Louis Rodriguez are likely to figure in the results.

Compact Speedcar action includes Louis Rodriguez again as he competes in both the open wheel classes, whilst Mark Cecil, Justin Paull and Michael Conway will be front runners and local Wangaratta racer Scott Thomson returns after some time away from the scene.

Sports Sedan racing continues to be Wangaratta’s strongest club class and Rhys Collins, Tristan McGraw, Robert Garlick, Matthew Brooks and Andrew Jordan are all very fast cars in the line-up, former Wangaratta based Australian Production Sedan champion Chris Lack makes his return to racing putting together some laps in the Sports Sedans.

Wangaratta gets its first look at the popular Unlimited Sedans with Warrick Taylor the Victorian champion heading the nominations. He will have his hands full with Lennie Bonnici, Trent Susol, Peter Cox and Ian Page, whilst drivers from the north east such as Wayne Eames and Corey McDonald cannot wait to do battle at Wangaratta.

Standard Saloon racing has a small yet strong field with Wayne Sheerman in his very quick car from Melbourne up against locals Shane Roycroft, Brendon Eames, Jaimi Barber and Micheal Fleming –Robertson keen to pick off the big win in this tough line-up.

Finally the Junior Sedan field is also another field that will produce outstanding racing for fans. Dylan Barrow, Bradin Claridge and Marty Bassett in particular have strong finishing results across last season and this year behind them, watch to see who wins the battle on Saturday night.

Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged 6 through to 16, children under 6 free.

The gates to the public open from Midday and racing begins from 5pm. Public enquiries can be made to 0402 820 489

On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including;
Benalla Roadside Assist
Burson Auto Parts
Edge FM
Jabek Transport
Kore Concreting
North East Fasteners
Robinson Truck Repairs
Solimo Towing
Ussher Plumbing and Concreting
Wangaratta Spring Works

Janelle Saville – NSW 2
Chris Carr – Victoria 3
Jack Ward – Victoria 4
Gary Bowyer – NSW 5
Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
Alex Myers – Victoria 11
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
Matt Kamolins – Victoria 22
Paul Perry – Victoria 33
David Bacon – NSW 36
Shawn Ward – Victoria 44
Louis Rodriguez – Victoria 47
Ashley Booker – Victoria 50
Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
Terry Brown – Victoria 88

Daniel James – Victoria 3
Mark Hutchinson – Victoria 6
Mark Cecil – Victoria 7
Louis Rodriguez – Victoria 11
Justin Paull – Victoria 12
Tania Hallett – Victoria 15
Scott Thomson – Victoria 17
AJ Wiles – Victoria 32
Gavin Cooper – Victoria 34
Aaron Stubbs – Victoria 46
Aaron Bacon – Victoria 56
Michael Conway – Victoria 77

Chris Lack – Wangaratta 4
Will Heiner – Mount Beauty 6
Joel Copeland – Corowa 23
Rhys Collins – Mount Beauty 27
Belinda Chalcraft – Goulburn Valley 34
Tristan McGraw – Corowa 38
Marcus Griffiths – Mount Beauty 38
Jaiden McCann – Nagambie 39
Robbie Edwards – Nyora 55
Robert Garlick – Alexandra 63
Matthew Brooks – Wangaratta 65
James Guppy – Wangaratta 66
Tom Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Lachlan Cummins – Mount Beauty 69
Josh Beattie – Goulburn Valley 72
Jasmin Molloy – Ballarat 72
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Andrew Jordan – Alexandra 89

Jaimi Barber – Corowa 8
Adam Brezovnik – Corowa 13
Brendon Eames – Corowa 16
Keith Cattermole – Corowa 17
Michael Fleming-Robertson – Corowa 18
Michael Poole – Corowa 41
Shane Roycroft – Wangaratta 65
Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 89

Bradin Claridge – Goulburn Valley 7
Connor Claridge – Swan Hill 7
Dylan Barrow – Alexandra 17
Riley Balins – Corowa 21
Abbi Garlick – Alexandra 63
Marty Bassett – Corowa 66
Michael Sayers – Mount Beauty 69

Warrick Taylor – Victoria 1
Lennie Bonnici – Victoria 2
Trent Susol – Redline 7
Stan Brown – Drouin 23
Corey McDonald – Mount Beauty 37
Wayne Eames – Corowa 51
Peter Cox – Nagambie 62
Ian Page – Redline 72
Darron Kolar – Rosedale 82
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83
Daniel Unternahrer – Alexandra 86
Travis Ramsdale – Nyora 99

Ends Release.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist