Benton and Quarrell Memorials headline Rushworth return to racing

Rushworth Speedway fires up the octane action this Saturday night, the first event since the Christmas break and a terrific line up has nominated for the Paul Benton Memorial for the combined field of Goulburn Valley Open and Production Sedans as they share top billing with the Grand Prix Midget Rod Quarrell Memorial which doubles as the Victorian title for the class.

The visiting 3 Litre Sedans along with the local Ladies and the Juniors are also on the terrific night of racing.

Entrants in the Super Balance Automotive supported Victorian title for Grand Prix Midgets include Australian champion Trevor Perry whose family has a long history with the Goulburn Valley based club as does multiple times state champion Dennis Myers who is also in the field. Perry is yet to win a Victorian title whilst Myers almost has more Vic title wins than he does fingers on his hands!

These two competitors are very fierce on track and love to win at Rushworth however the likes of Lisa Chalcraft the fast femme and another Goulburn Valley local, Travis Florrimell, Chris Fowler, Janelle and Rod Saville and last event winner Shawn Ward are all primed to give a good account of themselves at the title.

Locally the Paul Benton Memorial honours a former club President who lost his life working at the track making venue improvements many years ago. This is the event each year that drivers want to win, along with winning their class season championship. No other one night event is more important to locals than the Paul Benton Memorial however.

The Mota Care Service Centre supported Benton Memorial pits Open Saloons up against the Production Sedans and leading the fancied runners from the Open Saloons is Paul Lamb. He will have his work cut out for him with Michael Wicks, Jay Nicolaisen and Garry Gapes who won the last race meeting for Open Saloons amongst those putting up a challenge.

Production Sedans keen to get the big win ahead of the Open Saloon competitors include Mark Cecil who has a history of beating Open Saloon cars, Shane Hutchins the class champion, Troy Britton who won the last Production Sedan meeting and Leigh Jeffery who has been one of the lead competitors for the last few seasons.

3 Litre Sedans visit again and Goulburn Valley racer Daniel Wilson will be keen to win on his home track however he is going to have a challenge on his hands with Lennie Clark, Mick Boyle and Andrew Ahearn amongst the entry list. Clark has a great history of winning at Rushworth and he is coming off a victory at Swan Hill and is in winning form. Locals will be cheering on Wilson to a home track win.

Again action in the Ladies will be tough with the likes of Chloe and Kelly Lamb, Cassie Wicks, Belinda Chalcraft and the Hodge girls in the line up whilst in the Junior Sedans Lachie Fitzpatrick has been winning races away from Rushworth and he again is the favourite with Tristan McGraw and the Cecil boys keeping him honest.

Racing begins from 4pm on Saturday with entry costs $25 per adult, aged pensioners are $15, kids 12 to 16 are $12.50 each and under the age of 12 is FREE, whilst a family of 2 adults and 2 kids 12 to 16 is $60

The Goulburn Valley Auto Club would like to thank the following supporters:
Super Balance Automotive –Shepparton
Mota Care Auto Service Centre – East Bendigo
WG Panels – Rochester
Kyabram Motor Wreckers – Kyabram
The Rushworth Hotel – Rushworth
Autobarn Shepparton
Marty Turpin Mechanical – Tatura
Ipta Fibreglass – Geelong
Ross Adams Cartage Contractor – Rochester
Rushworth Bakery – Rushworth
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
Superior Concrete & Construction – Bendigo
A1 Water Supplies – Tatura
McKellars Freight Services – Bendigo
Grime 2 Shine Auto Detailing – Bendigo
Bendigo Specialists Brake & Clutch

Trevor Perry – Australia 1
Janelle Saville – NSW 2
Troy Buis – Vic 5
Mark Blackeby – Vic 10
Dennis Myers – Vic 11
Chris Fowler – Vic 13
Lisa Chalcraft – Vic 15
David Bacon – Vic 36
Shawn Ward – Vic 44
Rod Saville – NSW 59
Steve Bennett – NSW 79
Travis Florrimell – Vic 81
Andrew Ward – Vic 88

Paul Lamb – 1
Michael Wicks – 14
Jay Nicolaisen – 15
Wes Cadmore – 21
Darren Hodge – 25
Mark Bergmann – 31
Braiden Simmonds – 36
Scott Smith – 58
Shane Roycroft – 82
Garry Gapes – 84

Shane Hutchins – 1
Geoff Lee – 5
Mark Cecil – 7
Reece Harris – 16
Bevan Hutchins – 18
Luke Taig- 23
Leigh Jeffery – 29
Troy Britton – 41
Chris Woeltjes – 54
Matthew Brooks – 57
Neil Johnson – 69
Brad Frost – 114

Daniel Wilson – Vic 2
Jason Ahearn – Heartland 4
Shane Simpson – Nagambie 7
Lennie Clark – Bendigo 8
Mick Boyle – Swan Hill 14
Andrew Robl – Corowa 19
Terry Nash – Horsham 22
Andrew Ahearn – Heartland 55
Steve Honeyman – Horsham 66
Steve Ellis – Horsham 74

Chloe Lamb – 1
Kelly Lamb – 2
Cassie Wicks – 14
Belinda Chalcraft – 15
Chelsea Hodge – 25
Jas Bergman – 36
Leeanne Hodge – 51
Rhiannan Alexander – 64
Nicole Gapes – 84

Lachie Fitzpatrick – 1
Josh Cecil – 6
Luke Cecil – 7
Jorden Simmonds – 20
Tristan McGraw – 38
Daniel Smith – 58
Cooper Laune – 70

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist