Drivers primed for Triple Crown Series

For the Microsprints class within NSW, the 2019-20 season is set to be a massive one, following the announcement of the Wide Open Promotions Microsprints Triple Crown Series, which is set to begin this Saturday night with the opening round at Tamworth’s Oakburn Park Speedway. Drivers Primed for Triple Crown Series

In excess of $10,000 in prize money and giveaways is up for grabs throughout the three Wide Open Promotions Microsprints Triple Crown Series rounds, and the three rounds will be fought out at Oakburn Park Speedway with this Saturday night’s opening round, followed by Gunnedah Speedway for round two in February and then conclude with the third and final round at Grafton Speedway in March.

A total of 13 drivers from around the state and also interstate in Queensland have committed as contracted Wide Open Promotions Microsprint Triple Crown Series entries for all three rounds.

Heading the line up of Wide Open Promotions Microsprint Triple Crown Series drivers are a trio of former Australian Champions in Mitch Isaacs, Les Nelson and Ernie Havas.

Apart from Isaacs, Nelson and Havas from NSW, other host state entries are current NSW Champion Andrew Baker, ex-NSW Champion Lachlan and his brother Jackson Isaacs (Mitch’s two children), former Queensland Champion Jason Summers, Peter Challen, Kierah Hawkins and newcomer Cody Geddes.

Completing the contracted driver line up are Queenslanders Jason Glynn, Darron Holstein and Andrew Garrick, who are hoping to fly the flag for their state and claim the top honours that includes a $1000 overall prize.

To say that the drivers are excited about Australian speedway’s largest ever Microsprints series would be quite the understatement.

“The launch of the Wide Open Promotions Triple Crown Series is a fantastic promotion initiative for the Microsprint class, and I’m very excited about being a part of it all,” enthused contracted driver Ernie Havas, who is the current Queensland Champion.

“A lot of hard work has gone into putting this series together, and none of this would be possible without the wonderful support of our sponsors. Hopefully this is the first series of many to come in future seasons and continue to help the growth of the whole Microsprint class.”

The format for each round is going to be three rounds of heat races over eight laps each and a 20-lap feature race.

Wide Open Promotions Microsprint Triple Crown Series Schedule

Round 1:
October 26
Oakburn Park Speedway (Tamworth)

Round 2:
February 8
Gunnedah Speedway

Round 3 (Grand Final):
March 7
Grafton Speedway

Wide Open Promotions Microsprint Triple Crown Series Contracted Drivers:
N3 Peter Challen
N4 Andrew Baker
N7 Mitch Isaacs
N8 Kierah Hawkins
N11 Jason Summers
N14 Jackson Isaacs
N15 Ernie Havas
N55 Les Nelson
N76 Cody Geddes
N98 Lachlan Isaacs
Q6 Darron Holstein
Q22 Andrew Carrick
Q38 Jason Glynn

Wide Open Promotions
Hoosier Tires Australia
Concept Paints
Nepean Hydraulics
Racks N Tracks
Joel Engineering
Mr Filter
A.T.E Race Engines
Generators Australia
Carburettor & EFI Services
Hire A Hubby Property Maintenance
Clinical Sports Hypnosis
Mini School of Driving
Rite Price Tyres
Coastal Driveline Specialist
Weller Motorsport
C&A Mobile Sound Communications
Two Wheel Obsession
Sketchy Graphix

Prize Sponsors:
Hoosier Tires Australia
Racks N Tracks
Lethal Race Wings
Powerplus Racing Fuels
Pass Powder Coating
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Uni Filter Australia

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist