Family night of fun at Bairnsdale Speedway this Saturday night

Another night of motorsport fun will be had on Saturday night by anybody keen to venture out to Bairnsdale Speedway for the second last race meeting of the season with Sprintcars, Division 2 Hot Rods, Limited Sportsman and Standard Saloons to deliver the on track action.

Sprintcars will be competing for association points with the likes of Victorian champion Nigel Laity up against Adam Greenwood, Alastair Bastian, Shane Steenholdt and Andrew Nielsen or local East Gippsland based drivers and in the mix for a victory. Laity won the state title at Bairnsdale’s last race meeting when he was able to overcome a strong line-up and campaign the family car to the number one spot. Greenwood and Bastian are likely in a battle for association points honours for the season and they will be keen to come out on top this weekend.

Division 2 Hot Rods last weekend held their Victorian title at Rosedale Speedway and some of the drivers will back up with a trip to Bairnsdale this weekend. Ben Crittenden from Lakes Entrance is now Victoria 2 after last weekend and he and Victoria three Mel Tatterson along with Victoria 4 Rob Tatterson are keen to out-gun Bobby Devine who has been on fire at Bairnsdale this year and Troy Hutchison who is normally consistent in the top three positions.

Standard Saloon competition will put Josh Thomas are top driver in action against Jamie Curtis, Leigh Gooding, Andrew Cormack, Adam Wharton, and Steve Dadswell as they all chase a win. Thomas was a qualifying standout at the state title a couple of weeks ago at Wangaratta whilst Dadswell has proving to be entertaining in recent race meetings gunning for topside passes.

A small field of local’s will also zip around in their Limited Sportsman with Darren Adams the top name amongst entries when it comes to results over recent seasons. Matt Hurley, Mark Both, David Knight and Chris Woeltjes will all be pleased if they could come out with a victory in front of Adams on Saturday night.

Racing will kick off at 5:30pm. Enquiries on the day of racing only, can be made to 0458 617 910, all other enquiries can be made via the clubs website at

Entry for this Saturday night and right through the season is $25 per adult ticket, $20 for adult club membership holders. $20 for aged pensioners, children aged 12 to 16 $8 or a family ticket $60 for two adults and two children 12 to 16, all children under twelve are free to enter. Eftpos is available at the Ticket box, pit box and canteen.

Bairnsdale Speedway Association would like to thank these wonderful supporting partners;
A1 Trailers
Active Sound Systems
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
Aussie Septic Solutions
Bairnsdale Autobarn
Bairnsdale Automotive
Bairnsdale Bearings & Industrial
Bairnsdale RSL
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Service Centre Bairnsdale
Buchan Towing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roof Restorations
East Gippsland Locks and Keys
East Gippsland Plumbing and Drainage
East Vic Hydraulics
Eastern Signs & Designs
Egee Printers
Eye Care Plus
EZ Print
Gillicks Busline
Gippsland Treated Pine
Gippsland Truck Centre
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Kennedy Trailers
Logue’s Autowreckers
M&S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations Pty Ltd
Napier Photography
Patties Food
Phaselink Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Automotive
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull
Todd Plumbing Supplies
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gasfitting
Westpoint Motors
WGI Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

Brett Pope – 33
Adam Greenwood – 35
Nigel Laity – 53
Alastair Bastian – 55
Peter Laity – 66
Trent Nielsen – 88
Andrew Nielsen – 90
Shane Steenholdt – 98

Allan Sell – Rosedale 7
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 10
Fraser Crittenden – Bairnsdale 11
Rob Tatterson – Moe 11
Ben Crittenden – Bairnsdale 12
Alan Ward – Moe 18
Kevin Hays – Rosedale 19
Mel Tatterson – Rosedale 21
Troy Wilson – Bairnsdale 34
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 74
Dale Whitfield – Nyora 95

Jamie Curtis – Bairnsdale 10
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 14
Adam Wharton – Bairnsdale 45
Steve Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 55
Shaunn Cormack – Bairnsdale 62
Deon Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Don Fyfe – Bairnsdale 96

Matt Hurley – Bairnsdale 14
Mark Both – Bairnsdale 18
David Knight – Bairnsdale 32
Chris Woeltjes – Bairnsdale 54
Darren Adams – Bairnsdale 88

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist