Huge opening night at Redline Raceway

Redline Raceway began its season on Saturday night with plenty of action for everybody including Sprintcars, the Junior Sedan Promotional Association, the Amca Nationals and Street Stocks. Close finishes in the Sprintcars, Top Star Juniors and Street Stocks kept fans glued to the action whilst Steven Brooks and Bailey Pitcher became rollover victims. HUGE OPENING NIGHT AT REDLINE RACEWAY

The Sprintcar ‘Crowies Paints’ supported feature race began with Shane Steenholdt in the lead before you gun Alistair Bastian took the lead. Steenholdt fought back to reclaim the front position as behind the two leaders Shaun Lyness battled with and passed Adam Greenwood for the third spot. Steenholdt would go on to take the win with Bastian half a second behind then came Lyness, Greenwood and Andrew Nielsen rounding out the top five over twenty-five laps. Interestingly there were eight drivers with faster lap times during the night than Steenholdt, however his race smarts won the night. Bastian almost broke the class track one lap record whilst Adam Cullinger broke the class ten lap record.

Andrew Neilsen, David McKay, Cullinger all won qualifiers by less than a second margin whilst Steenholdt won the last qualifier before feature time.

The Victorian Junior Sedan Promotional Association Top Stars racing Ben Micallef and Jayden Bryant had a terrific scrap in a race long battle with Micallef setting a new fifteen lap class record at Redline. Bryant tried on a couple of occasions to wrest the lead from Micallef, however by race end found himself in between the Micallef brothers on the podium with Ben first, Bryant second just .293 of a second behind and Darcy Micallef followed in third. Jaxson Vella and Linken Patterson rounded out the top five to finish.

Ben Micallef won two of the qualifiers, his brother Darcy another, South Australian Matt Michelson in the closest finish by just .180, Jaxson Vella and Bree Simpson won also.

Dylan Barrow won the shortened final in New Star Juniors after Bailey Pitcher rolled down the starting straight five to six times tearing his car apart. Barrow proved too strong during the qualifying racing breaking the six-lap record and winning all three of his races along the way and then dominated final as he defeated Seth Sloane, Jacob Pitcher, River Patterson and Blake Glynn. Shaqira Blake, Bailey Rumler and Sloane won qualifying races in the lead up to the final also.

Dean Heseltine took the win in Amca Nationals despite a charge from the rear of the field by Victorian champion Tim Reidy. Both drivers qualified at the front of the field after winning qualifiers along with Paul Sullivan, with Reidy electing to start at the rear and try and chase Heseltine down. In the closing laps Reidy caught and accidently impeded Heseltine and was deemed to have caused a stoppage that ultimately caused a declaration in the race. Heseltine defeated Trevor Thierry, Paul Howard, Bruce Tait and Jimmy Harris with Reidy finishing at the rear of the field on the lead lap.

Rounding out the action-packed evening the Street Stock feature event finished with just .384 of a second separating first and second placed finishers Jason Degoldi the club champion for the class and the visiting Matt Nelson with third placed Jayden Blomeley also in the mix. The first six cars finished within two seconds of the winner. Degoldi lead every lap of the twenty-lap final with Andrew Jordan finishing fourth and Lenny Bates in fifth. Nelson and Brad McClure won two qualifiers leading up to the feature with Shaun Henry and Andrew Jordan the other two.

Ends Release.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist