Limited Sportsman state title and crowd-pleasing Dirt Modifieds at Bairnsdale Speedway this Saturday

This Saturday night Bairnsdale Speedway once again will entertain with a mixture of open wheel and sedan racing headlined by the Limited Sportsman’s Victorian title and the visiting V8 Dirt Modifieds. Amongst the Limited Sportsman entrants are the current Victorian champion Nathan Baker and last season’s runners up Andrew Wilson. The Dirt Modified action should see Brett Clarke do battle with Daryl Hickson, Micheal Ardley, and last weekend’s Peter Britten 44 event in Queensland Todd Hobson, all four of them amongst Australia’s best.

Also featured will be the annual ‘Boost 2 Drive’ Junior Standard Saloon feature supported by Bairnsdale club member’s Stuart and Heather Barkway and their business that assists youngsters with the skills they need to go on and earn their driver’s licences.

The Limited Sportsman’s field is strong. Besides Baker and Wilson we add to them the South Australian champion Troy Curran, local hot shot Dillon Siely, Craig Ansell and Katelyn Worthy from Hamilton, Bowen Donkers from Portland, and more locals such as Mal Siely, Darren Adams and Mark Noonan and you have a cracker line-up very hard to pick a winner and top five from.

Dirt Modifieds are loud V8 powered machines and fans will enjoy as they hike up on three wheels through the entry of the corners at Bairnsdale Speedway before speeding up the straights. Expect the action to be close between the front runners, with Hobson, Clarke, Hickson and Ardley leading the charge. Hobson just defeated many of Australia’s best up North and is on a high and keen to win on home turf at a venue where he has been successful in his Wingless Sprint.

Mitch Foster leads the field in the Standard Saloons with last meetings pole position qualifier Leigh Gooding, former Victorian champion Nick Chrystie, Glen Pendlebury a local legend, local hot shot Josh Thomas, last meetings fastest driver Jacob Vuiillermin and previous Bairnsdale winner Andrew Cormack are just some of the competitors to watch. Foster got his season off to a great start at Nyora this year with victory and looks to be the top gun on Saturday in the field.

An impressive eleven Ladies have nominated for Ladies Standard Saloon racing with Tash Curtis, Danielle Solly, Sharlene Laidlaw and Kate Stuchbery amongst the most experienced that have nominated. Curtis has proven over recent seasons that she is amongst the strongest Lady racers in the class however Solly has not missed a top three finish yet this season. Watch for those two in particular with Laidlaw and Stuchbery giving them some hustle.

The ‘Boost 2 Drive’ Junior Standard Saloon feature this weekend includes Blake Smith, Zac Barwise, Beau Stuchbery and Deon Fyfe and many developing newcomers to the sport. The class is strong, and we look like seeing a new feature winner in the class with some of the current crop of strong South East Melbourne youngsters unable to attend.

All three of this seasons Division 2 Hot Rod final winners Troy Hutchison, Trent Wilson and Boxing night winner Leigh Mitchell are in the field for this Saturday night. Whilst they are expected to be contenders for the win once again, Daniel Angus the current Victoria #3 driver, Bobby Devine and Rob Tatterson are keen to upset the trio and take out a big win.

With a 5.30pm start on race night, entry to either of these two events with Eftpos available, costs $25 for an adult, aged pensioners $15, Children aged 12 to 16 $8 each whilst all other children are free. A family ticket for two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 is $60. We have food and drink catering on sight with Eftpos at the canteen available, and you may bring your own liquor.

We are obligated to comply with whatever the current Covid conditions are at the time of the event, however it is safe to say that attending only if you are double vaccinated and can prove it via Services Victoria application.

You can find our track at 120 Deptford Road as you head out on Great Alpine Road, we are situated in Granite Rock. On race days only, if you have an enquiry, you can call 0458 617 910. We encourage you to stay in touch with what is happening our social media platforms.

Bairnsdale Speedway Association thank all their valued supporters;
A1 Septic Tanks
A1 Trailers
A1 Yard Maintenance
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
ABR 4×4 Bairnsdale
Active Sound Systems
Bairnsdale Automotive & Transmissions
Bairnsdale RSL
Bairnsdale Scrap Metal
Bakers Delight
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Bairnsdale Riviera Tyre Service
Bristol Paint
Buchan Towing
Carpet World
Cheap Tyres Morwell
Clifton Mobile Homes
Craig Riseley Plumbing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roofing
East Gippsland Hire
Eastern Signs
Egap Security
Egee Printers
East Gippsland Locks & Keys
EZ Print
Farm Fodder Direct
Gen-Sol Power Australia
Gillicks Busline
Gippsland Treated Pine
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Jarvis Norwood
JBI Concreting
Kennedy Trailers
M & S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations
Patties Foods
Napier Photography
Phase Link Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
Swan Plumbing
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull MP – Member for Gippsland East
Todd Plumbing Supplies
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gas fitting
Westpoint Motors
W.G.I Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

Nathan Baker – Victoria 1 / Horsham
Andrew Wilson – Victoria 2 / Hamilton
Bayley Wilson – Hamilton 14
Dillon Siely – Bairnsdale 15
Dylan Anton – Hamilton 25
Craig Ansell – Hamilton 26
Travis Matthews – Horsham 27
Katelyn Worthy – Hamilton 38
Russell Taylor – Corowa 43
Jenny Godfrey – Hamilton 59
Mal Siely – Bairnsdale 87
Darren Adams – Bairnsdale 88
Mark Noonan – Hamilton 91
Bowen Donkers – Portland 99
Troy Curran – South Australia 1

Brett Clarke – Victoria 11
Tony Moore – Victoria 23
Tyler Scott – Victoria 37
Micheal Ardley – Victoria 59
George Napier – Victoria 62
Todd Hobson – Victoria 84
Daryl Hickson – Victoria 92

Mitch Foster – Bairnsdale 5
Glenn Pendlebury – Bairnsdale 7
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Mat McDermott – Rosedale 13
Aaron Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Nick Chrystie – Alexandra 25
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 25
Don Burke – Rosedale 31
Darren Walker – Rosedale 50
Jack Wharton – Bairnsdale 57
Jacob Vuillermin – Rosedale 59
Shaun Cormack – Bairnsdale 62
Tim McKenzie – Wangaratta 65
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Scott Angus – Nyora 91
Justin Smith – Moe 93
Don Fyfe – Bairnsdale 96

Tash Curtis – Bairnsdale 10
Jo Richardson – Bairnsdale 12
Michelle Overton – Bairnsdale 13
Cass Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Sammi Broome – Bairnsdale 19
Sharlene Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Danielle Solly – Bairnsdale 29
Tash Kelly – Bairnsdale 51
Trish Meers – Bairnsdale 76
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Ashlie Cormack – Bairnsdale 80

Blake Smith – Moe 10
Tannah Lee – Rosedale 10
Tom Braz – Rosedale 14
Jackie Angus – Nyora 19
Nathalya Westwood – Rosedale 28
Sharni Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 32
Zac Barwise – Colac 32
Bree Walker – Rosedale 50
Deon Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
Beau Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 72
Brianna Noyes – Bairnsdale 83
Breanna Lee – Bairnsdale 92

Leigh Mitchell – Victoria 2 / Rosedale
Daniel Angus – Victoria 3 / Nyora
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 6
Trent Wilson – Bairnsdale 10
Jason Seymour – Moe 10
Ben Crittenden – Bairnsdale 11
Rob Tatterson – Moe 11
Kane Gibson – Moe 18
Kevin Hays – Rosedale 19
Mel Tatterson – Moe 21
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 74

Ends Release

Media release written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist