Nicola Jr takes the SA Title home To Victoria

After escaping the border shut down Victorian Mick Nicola Jr claimed the 2021 South Australian Super Sedan Championship at the Sunline Speedway, Waikerie on Saturday night, After starting from the pole position Nicola Jr took the lead on lap 9 passing Mick Nicola and he would hold on to defeat Kym Jury and Mick Nicola.

Unfortunately, due to the field rolling out for the final just minutes before midnight a large portion of the crowd had already left the venue but the spectators who stuck around were treated to a great race, especially for the final podium positions.

Earlier 11 drivers had fronted for action but by the end of the night only 8 drivers were left for the Championship final. Among the non-starters were Paul Blenkiron, who was a casualty of damage sustained in his final heat after contact with Steve Schwarz, Whyalla’s Michael Brown, who broke the rear end in heat 1 while Jason Gantz didn’t get past hot laps, failing to make the start of the heat races.

After the heats Nicola Jr topped the score charts with Mick Nicola, Ryan Alexander, Jury, Steve Schwarz, Neville Nitschke, Kym Leyson and Sarah Pope rounding out the starters,

As the green flag dropped Mick Nicola jumped into the lead with Nicola Jr, Alexander and Jury racing door to door in behind. With the track being a bit one laned Alexander attempted to run where the others were not, heading to the top side, but it cost him a spot as Jury would sneak by on the bottom.

Once Nicola Jr took the lead on lap 9 Jury would also pass Nicola Snr for second five laps later. The top four would run in this order until Alexander got by Nicola Snr for third on lap 21 only to lose power coming out of turn four two laps later ending his run.

Therefore after 30 laps only six cars would finish with Nicola Jr winning ahead of Jury, Nicola Snr, Kym Leyson, Neville Nitschke and Sarah Pope, who finished 4 laps down.

The four heats were full of drama with a couple of the main contenders dropping a heat. Heat 1 saw Alexander being caught up in an incident with the lapped car of Sarah Pope while Kym Jury lost the right rear tyre in heat 3. The heat winners were Jury, Nicola Jr, Nicola Snr and Alexander.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist