Not one, but two Victorian champions to be determined this Saturday night at Wangaratta

It is the time of the year where many of the state and national championships are decided and with that, Wangaratta Speedway Club will host two Victorian titles out at Wangaratta City Raceway this Saturday night with the Victorian Production Sedan title and the Victorian Compact Speedcar titles to be decided this weekend, with support from the Standard Saloons and the Junior Open Sedans.

Wangaratta and Northeast Victoria are heavily represented in the Production Sedan title with former Australian champion Chris Lack leading local representation that includes Chris Fitzgerald, Leighton Evans, Brendan Harper, Felicity Roycroft, Tom Barnard, Kenneth Mankey and Raymond Ussher all members of the host club. Fitzgerald won two heat races at the most recent event at Wangaratta for Production Sedans and is itching to get out on track this Saturday whilst Ussher has no shortage of wins in the class over recent years on this track. Evans recently returned to racing and performed well at the last event also.

Locals expect to battle against Trevor Mills who won the Bob Bailey Memorial at the last Wangaratta race meeting from Stephen Laidlaw and his own son Jacob Mills. All three are expected to figure prominently at the state title whilst Scott Hawkins, Wayne Bourke, Jaiden Healey, Craig McAlister, and Stuey Robinson are others to watch on race night also.

Over twenty-five Compact Speedcars have nominated for their Victorian title with Australian and current Victorian champion Justin Paull leading the way for the locals looking to defend home territory. Michael Conway is the driver setting down the best results so far this season in Victoria and he along with Mark Cecil, Mitch Whiting, Louis Rodriguez, Tania Hallett, Joe Lostich, Chris Curren, and Trevor Perry form a strong contingent of locals with their eyes on the number one prize.

Andrew Parkes the Queensland champion leads an interstate Queensland and New South Wales contingent that includes Mark Heaton, Matt O’Neil, Matt Reed, Rod Saville, and Shaun Robinson amongst others that are set to challenge the Victorian’s for the title win, it is not inconceivable that the title could be taken over the Murray River by the end of the night.

Some of the states faster Standard Saloons will visit Wangaratta on Saturday to get some much-needed valuable race laps in prior to their own Victorian title that will occur on Labour Day weekend in March. Rhys Lansdown, Shane Stewart, Jeff and Mitch Blencowe, Jack Yeoman’s, Bradley Hill, Brodie Ardley and Wayne Sheerman will all be looking to pick up a bragging rights victory in front of former Victorian champion Warrick Howie from Chiltern who competes as a Wangaratta representative, whilst South Australian Mark Jennings will also turn some laps in preparation for the upcoming title.

Some of our future champions will also compete in the Junior Open Sedan class with Riley Balins, Jordan Tewkesbury, Toby Parks and Hunter Carey a few of the entrants to watch.

Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged six through to sixteen, children under six free and a family ticket is $60 for two adults and three kids over the age of six.

The gates to the public open from 2pm and racing begins from 5pm.
Public enquiries can be made to 0458 889 974

On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

SPONSOR RECOGNITION FOR Wangaratta Speedway Club
A1 Tyre Service
Aerodrome Automotive
Alpine Truss
Alpine Drilling
Burson’s Auto Parts
Cashiee Wangaratta
Country Concrete
Creative Designs
Edge FM
Fallon’s Bus Service
Grimshaw Sign
Jabek Transport
Jim Snowdon
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
Mundie Automotive
McDonald’s Wangaratta
McGregor Machinery
North East Fasteners
O’Loughlin Contractor’s
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Solimo Towing
Snap on Albury
Vic Solimo
Tuff Tyres
Tailor Made Kitchens
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Toil and Soil
Ussher Plumbing and Contracting
Wangaratta Spring Works
Waw Credit Union
Wangaratta Club
Wangaratta Radiators
Wangaratta Brake and Clutch
Wangaratta Mazda
Wangaratta Offroad & Mechanical

Chris Lack – Victoria 4
Scott Hawkins – New South Wales 5
Trevor Mills – New South Wales 10
Jacob Mills – Victoria 12
Chris Fitzgerald – Victoria 14
Jacob Croker – New South Wales 15
Leighton Evans – Victoria 15
Rodney Anderson – New South Wales 17
Jack Bear – Victoria 19
Wayne Bourke – New South Wales 27
Jaiden Healey – New South Wales 29
Stephen Laidlaw – Victoria 30
Craig McAlister – New South Wales 32
Toby Whyte – New South Wales 33
Stuey Robinson – Victoria 36
Brett Norman – New South Wales 45
Chris Croker – New South Wales 51
Zoey Salau – Victoria 52
Brendan Harper – Victoria 58
Felicity Roycroft – Victoria 65
Tom Barnard – Victoria 69
Brendan O’Farrell – New South Wales 86
Kenneth Mankey – Victoria 89
Toby Carmichael – Victoria 93
Raymond Ussher – Victoria 98

Justin Paull – Australia 1
Andrew Parkes – Queensland 1
Mark Hutchinson – Victoria 6
Mark Cecil – Victoria 7
Glen Wiles – Victoria 9
Mitch Whiting – Victoria 10
Louis Rodriguez – Victoria 11
Tania Hallett – Victoria 15
Scott Thomsen – Victoria 16
Nathan O’Brien – New South Wales 21
Joe Lostich – Victoria 22
Chris Curren – Victoria 23
Mark Heaton – ACT 26
Andrew Wiles – Victoria 32
Cheyne Williams – New South Wales 33
Matt O’Neil – Queensland 38
Ben Fairfax – New South Wales 44
Matt Reed – New South Wales 46
Aaron Stubbs – Victoria 46
Adam Ollerton – New South Wales 55
Trevor Perry – Victoria 55
Rod Saville – ACT 59
Shaun Robinson – ACT 73
Con Buurveld – ACT 76
Michael Conway – Victoria 77
Terry Brown – Victoria 88

Rhys Lansdown – Victoria 2
Shane Stewart – Rosedale 6
Shawn Ward – WG 7 (Wangaratta)
Warrick Howie – Wang 7 (Wangaratta)
Mark Jennings – Wangaratta 8
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Mitch Blencowe – Drouin 10
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 12
Adam Brezovik – Mount Beauty 13
Bradley Hill – Nyora 36
Justin Cadman – Nyora 39
Cody McCabe – Portland 39
Stephen Douglas – Drouin 44
Brodie Ardley – Nyora 66
Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
Rhyse Lavender – Corowa 84

Cooper Lack – Wangaratta 4
Luke Ward – Wangaratta 7
Riley Balins – Wangaratta 21
Toby Parks – Alexandra 36
Jordan Tewkesbury – Corowa 53
Mackenzie Bunt – Corowa 85
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Latest from Torquecafe

Latest Podcasts

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist