Number one up for grabs for the ladies at Bairnsdale Speedway

This Saturday night the Ladies will put their foot firmly to the floor and hammer around Bairnsdale Speedway in their quest to become Victoria’s number one for the next twelve months in the Ladies Standard Saloon Victorian title with competitors coming to compete from Ballarat, Victoria’s North East and right across Gippsland.

Ally Morrison the defending back-to-back champion is aiming for a hat trick of title wins whilst a number of hard chargers behind the wheel are aiming for their first title victory.

The Ladies will be supported by popular Hot Rod action from the Speedway Drivers Association of Victoria and the Unlimited Sedan’s plus Open Standard Saloons.

Morrison from Warragul will try for a third successive title victory however faces stiff competition including from her own teammate Felicity Roycroft who finished close behind Morrison last season.

Jaimi Barber, Lea Judd, Caroline Allen, Maddison Miles, last start winner at Bairnsdale Tahlia Campbell, Dette Miles and Katie Meyer are just some in the list of twenty drivers that are entertaining thoughts of victory.

Host association Bairnsdale has representation from Jo Richardson and Sammie Cormack and the two Ladies are keen for a top five spot by the end of race night, and to finish as the best local representative, whilst most of the competition comes from the South Gippsland Nyora club.

The Hot Rods number one driver Shannon Meakins is expecting stiff competition from Eddie Ivermee a recent winner in the class, Brendon Roberts and Phil Jenkins amongst others.

The class remains popular with many fans for its bodywork based on a 34 Ford, whilst most of the racers use Holden/Chevrolet engines.

Victorian Unlimited Sedans state champion Johnny Young from Sale is on top of the nomination list for this weekends racing at Bairnsdale with competition for victory like to come from Peter Farley, Daryl Nicolson, Corey McDonald and Peter Cox.

These Sedans feature some of the biggest dirt track cars in the world with the popular Late Model Sedan chassis becoming a feature of the class.

Standard Saloon’s will also feature with Jack Yeomans, Josh Thomas, Leigh Gooding, Steve Dadswell, Tyson Cull and Andrew Cormack just some of the front running competitors entered.

Yeoman’s a winner recently is keen to continue racking up wins whilst Thomas was once unbeatable at Bairnsdale and returns to his number one car to try and notch another victory at his home track.

Enquiries on the day of racing only, can be made to 0458 617 910, all other enquiries can be made via the clubs website at

Entry for this Saturday night and right through the season is $25 per adult ticket, $20 for adult club membership holders. $20 for aged pensioners, children aged 12 to 16 $8 or a family ticket $60 for two adults and two children 12 to 16, all children under twelve are free to enter. Eftpos is available at the Ticket box, pit box and canteen.

Bairnsdale Speedway Association would like to thank these wonderful supporting partners;
A1 Trailers
Active Sound Systems
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
Aussie Septic Solutions
Bairnsdale Autobarn
Bairnsdale Automotive
Bairnsdale Bearings & Industrial
Bairnsdale RSL
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Service Centre Bairnsdale
Buchan Towing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roof Restorations
East Gippsland Locks and Keys
East Gippsland Plumbing and Drainage
East Vic Hydraulics
Eastern Signs & Designs
Egee Printers
Eye Care Plus
EZ Print
Gillicks Busline
Gippsland Treated Pine
Gippsland Truck Centre
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Kennedy Trailers
Logue’s Autowreckers
M&S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations Pty Ltd
Napier Photography
Patties Food
Phaselink Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Automotive
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull
Todd Plumbing Supplies
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gasfitting
Westpoint Motors
WGI Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

Ally Morrison – Victoria 1 / Nyora 13
Stacey Sheedy – Drouin 4
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 8
Jo Richardson – Bairnsdale 12
Lea Judd – Nyora 12
Jemima Borkowski – Drouin 13
Sarah Gartner – Nyora 16
Michelle George – Nyora 17
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Sammie Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Erin Mitchell – Rosedale 19
Felicity Roycroft – Nyora 36
Tahlia Campbell – Rosedale 44
Elise Halliday – Rosedale 45
Kylie Lansdown – Nyora 47
Tasharni Murray – Drouin 48
Caroline Allen – Nyora 55
Katie Meyer – Nyora 66
Dette Miles – Nyora 94
Lizzi Huckel – Nyora 94
Emily Ayre – Rosedale 96

Phil Jenkins – 3
Eddie Ivermee – 6
Brendon Roberts – 7
Kali Hovey – 22
Russell Hovey – 25
Shannon Meakins 94
Allan Borradale – 93

Johnny Young – Victoria 1
Rob Tatterson – Rosedale 11
Peter Farley – Bendigo 12
Daryl Nicolson – Drouin 22
Peter Camilleri – Bendigo 23
Shane Brown – Drouin 23
Corey McDonald – Mount Beauty 37
Peter Cox – Nagambie 62
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 74
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83

Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 9
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 11
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Troy Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Luke King – Nyora 16
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Nick Harnett – Rosedale 29
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 50
Dean Spring – Nyora 50
Tyson Bretherton – Bairnsdale 33
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 46
Steve Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Deon Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
Tyson Cull – Nyora 69
Don Fyfe – Bairnsdale 96

Ends Release.

Written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist