Rushworth Speedway featuring sports sedans, juniors and GP Midgets

This Saturday night at Rushworth Speedway, the Goulburn Valley Auto Club will provide thrilling entertainment that includes several visiting classes joining the local superstars and their cars. A Sports Sedan feature along with features for 1200cc powered Junior Sedans and the larger six- and eight-cylinder Junior Sedan class. The Grand Prix Midgets will also be in town for their ‘Ironbark Classic’.

With Anthony Knight, Steve Akil, Luke Fallon, Steve Kershaw, Jay Nicolaisen, Jamie Lock, Nathan Shortis and Jaiden McCann amongst the Sports Sedan nominations the race to get hands on the big prize money being offered in the ‘Claridge Property Investments 1000’ will be on for young and old. Fans will see a mixture of six cylinder and eight-cylinder powered race cars come together with some very quick cars amongst the line-up.

In the’ Total Tools Bendigo’ Junior Sedan Spectacular, drivers will come from local areas and away from town with recent winners in both classes amongst entries. The Bendigo based Claridge family have three sons racing Bradin, Connor and Tyler and some very strong competitors from Ballarat, Melbourne and the far North East all have their eyes on the big prizes also. In the open engine class, the Claridge’s will have to be better on race night than Dylan Barrow, Rhys Meakins, Marty Bassett and others whilst in the restricted 1200cc class of Juniors Arthur Hutchinson, Sam Cherry, Brock Johnson, Jemma Woods and Bryce Leek have put on competitive racing recently around the North East.

Grand Prix Midget action will see former national champion Rod Saville travel down to do battle with the Victorian contingent for victory in the Ironbark Classic. Ash Booker is expected to by amongst the nominations after winning at Wahgunyah recently, Chris Fowler and local Shepparton racer Alex Myers are some of the entrants to watch as the open wheel 1000cc plus pocket rockets fly around Rushworth.

Local action in the Goulburn Valley Open and Production Sedans is potentially going to be a combined field. The three car Smith team of Scotty, Daniel and Matt will be back and raring to go with Garry Gapes a former class champion, Bevan and Shane Hutchins and Andrew Ahearn just some of the drivers to watch.

Belinda Chalcraft is the class racer in the Ladies field so far this season, however Chelsea Hodge, Nicole Gapes and the return of Debbie Pratt to competition will make racing interesting.

All the action begins at 4pm on and enquiries can be made to 0491 680 977

Spectator admission costs are Adults $20, Aged Pensioners $15, Kids ages 12 to 16 $10 each whilst children under the age of 12 are free. A family of two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 is $50 on a family ticket.

Goulburn Valley Auto Club is proudly supported by,
Automotive Super Balance – Shepparton
1 Stop Construction Group P/L – Kyabram
A1 Water Deliveries
Budget Trophies – Kyabram
Claridge House Removalists
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
RDI Mobile Mechanical Services
Rushworth Bakery
Ward Bros – Rochester
WG Panels – Rochester

Craig Claridge – Goulburn Valley 7
Steve Akil – Alexandra 8
Lachlan Hamilton – Goulburn Valley 16
Anthony Knight – Nagambie 19
Marc Hanson – Bendigo 19
Lucas Walker – Heartland 23
Joel Copeland – Corowa 23
Jay Nicolaisen – Goulburn Valley 34
Nathan Shortis – Nyora 37
Warren Alexander – Nagambie 37
Jaiden McCann – Nagambie 39
Troy Britton – Goulburn Valley 41
Rob Lock – Bendigo 42
Jamie Lock – Swan Hill 44
Steve Kershaw – Alexandra 52
Dennis Reid – Alexandra 54
Leigh Hammond – Bendigo 55
Andrew Brown- Goulburn Valley 66
Luke Fallon – Alexandra 77
Matt Callanan – Goulburn Valley 78

Bevan Hutchins – GV18
Darren Hodge – GV25
Wayne Gilsenan – GV53
Scott Smith – GV58
Daniel Smith – GV59
Delton Britton – GV60
Matt Smith – GV61
Tyler Brown – GV66
Matt Callanan – GV78
Garry Gapes – GV84
Keith Simmonds – GV132

Shane Hutchins – GV10
Jye Sanders – GV37
Andrew Ahearn – GV55
Jesse Longley – GV194

Belinda Chalcraft – GV15
Chelsea Hodge – GV25
Larrisa Ahearn – GV78
Nicole Gapes – GV84
Debbie Pratt – GV94
Jessica Kettels – GV150

Tyler Claridge – Swan Hill 6
Bradin Claridge – Goulburn Valley 7
Connor Claridge – Swan Hill 7
Dylan Barrow – Alexandra 17
Anthony Hanson – Bendigo 19
Keiden Britton – Goulburn Valley 41
Marty Bassett – Corowa 66
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 85
Jack Houlahan – Goulburn Valley 96

Libby Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 4
Ty Claridge – Swan Hill 6
Connor Claridge – Swan Hill 7
Sam Cherry – Alexandra 14
Brock Johnson – Corowa 23
Riley Taylor – Nyora 25
Bryce Leek – Nyora 29
Jemma Woods – Daylesford 45
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 82

Chris Carr – Victoria 3
Jack Ward – Victoria 4
Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
Alex Myers – Victoria 11
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
Matt Kamolins – Victoria 22
Shawn Ward – Victoria 44
Ash Booker – Victoria 50
Rod Saville – New South Wales 59

Ends Release.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist