Title contenders line up in BNT V8s

It’ll be a clean slate for competitors as the opening round of the BNT V8s kicks off at Pukekohe this weekend.

With reigning champion Simon Evans and Smeg Racing not competing this season, it leaves a number of contenders vying for the top spot by season end.

After a difficult season in 2016/17, Nick Ross and his Total Oils Nissan Altima will be looking to lock in consistent results to achieve a good championship result in the 2017/18 season.

“We did have a few reliability issues last season which was frustrating, because when the car was running well we were making steady progress on track and getting some good results,” says Ross.

“For me, and I guess everyone else it’ll all be about limiting the mistakes. Finishing races and being on the podium will be key to a good championship result.”

Team Richards Motorsport will again run two Toyota Camry’s this season, one for category stalwart Jason Bargwanna and returning V8 star, Kiwi Andre Heimgartner. The third Toyota Camry of Scott Taylor is parked up while the Australian driver recovers from a back injury sustained in a crash at Sydney Motorsport Park in August.

Also joining the battle in class one will be newly crowned Australian V8 Touring Car Champion Jack Smith. Smith will drive a Hamilton Motorsports Holden Commodore alongside new teammate and regular series competitor Lance Hughes.

The class one field also welcomes rookie Matthew Tubbs who will compete in a Holden Commodore with former class two front runner Brad Lathrope lining up in a Ford Falcon.

In class two, last season’s champion, Invercargill’s Liam MacDonald returns to defend his title with new support from Speedy Signs.

Chasing MacDonald will be class two returnees Nick Farrier and Chelsea Herbert who both scored good results last season and both are wanting to make more visits to the podium.

“It was my first full season last year, and most of the tracks I had never been to. So each weekend it was really about learning the tracks and not so much the car,” says Farrier.

“With that all out of the way now, this season I can concentrate on fine tuning the car and getting ourselves further up the grid.”

“The cars are all pretty close on the track and the drivers are all very good, so I need to be able to maximize the opportunities and race well to continue getting those good results.”

Christchurch driver Justin Ashwell will make his full time debut in the championship having contested the two South Island rounds in 2016/17, and back for more is the ever likeable Rob Wallace from Tauranga who returns to Pukekohe in his Ford Falcon with support from John Bull Footwear.

Bronson Porter and his Holden Commodore will also re-join the class two field, as well as Alan McCarrison in a Ford Falcon.

Two rookies will make their debuts at Pukekohe, with Brock Timperley stepping up from the Mazda Pro 7 Championship, and Taranaki’s Matthew Podjursky making the step up from Formula First.

The class three Invitation field is once again headed by last seasons champion Nigel Karl, and at Pukekohe he will be chased by a host of BMW’s from Andrew Nugent, Andre Mortimer, Matt Griffin and Warwick Mortimer.

2017/18 BNT V8s Season Calendar

Round 1:  Pukekohe November 3-5
Round 2: Taupo December 1-3
Round 3: Ruapuna 12-14 January
Round 4: Teretonga 19-21 January
Round 5: Manfeild 9-11 February
Round 6: Hampton Downs 9-11 March

Entry List Round 1 – Pukekohe

Driver Name Class Make/Model
Nick Ross Class One Nissan Altima
Jack Smith Class One Holden Commodore
Matthew Tubbs Class One Holden Commodore
Andre Heimgartner Class One Toyota Camry
Brad Lathrope Class One Ford Falcon
Lance Hughes Class One Holden Commodore
Jason Bargwanna Class One Toyota Camry
Alan McCarrison Class Two Ford Falcon
Rob Wallace Class Two Ford Falcon
Justin Ashwell Class Two Ford Falcon
Brock Timperley Class Two Ford Falcon
Chelsea Herbert Class Two Ford Falcon
Nick Farrier Class Two Ford Falcon
Liam MacDonald Class Two Ford Falcon
Matthew Podjursky Class Two Ford Falcon
Bronson Porter Class Two Holden Commodore
Andrew Nugent Invitation BMW E92 M3
Andre Mortimer Invitation BMW GTR
Matt Griffin Invitation BMW GTR
Warwick Mortimer Invitation BMW GT4
Nigel Karl Invitation Ford Falcon

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist