Wangaratta City Raceway begins this Saturday with something for everybody

Racing at Wangaratta City Raceway resumes with a new season this Saturday night and the North East is very much looking forward to it after Wahgunyah begun last Saturday night. Dusting off after Covid is the Production Sedans with round one of their track series along with the beginning of the last series for the Sports Sedan Darren Levy Memorial.

The Street Stocks and Compact Speedcars will visit along with the Grand Prix Midgets along with Standard Saloons, Ladies Sedans and Junior Sedan racing.

Some of the best Production Sedan race drivers in Australia are entered with Trevor Mills from Corowa and Stephen Laidlaw from Morwell both two times national champions, Dehne Sparrow from Hamilton, and the McAllister brothers from the Goulburn area of New South Wales coming into Wangaratta to compete with Brendan Harper a Wangaratta member racer and Chris Lack a Wangaratta man who also is a former national champion of the class.

In Sports Sedans where we see eight-cylinder engines up against six-cylinder engines, the Darren Levy Memorial will end this season after some time of competing in honour of Darren. Former two times Victorian champion in the Sports Sedan class Jamie Paull is entered as is Josh Service and Andrew Jordan are tough to beat from Melbourne also. Locally Jay Nicolaisen, Craig Cottier, Nathan Shortis, Rhys Collins, and Matt Brooks are just some of the Wangaratta and surrounds drivers looking to pick up the win.

Club members Shane and Felicity Roycroft will compete in the Street Stocks having round up some of their friends from New South Wales to come down and compete also. The action should be terrific with a Victoria vs NSW battle for all to enjoy in a class that fans will see compete either left or right hand down depending on a coin toss at the gate. Shane Ardley third at the Blue Ribbon Hannabury Memorial last season will also figure strongly.

In the mostly motorbike engine powered Compact Speedcars, a thirteen-car field is a great start and all drivers keen to race on Wangaratta Speedway as a tune up to this year’s Australian title at the venue. Justin Paull, Mark Cecil, Louis Rodriguez, Daniel James, Michael Conway, and Tania Hallett are just some of the names in a strong entry list of competitors.

Grand Prix Midgets battle between Yamaha engines and Suzuki engines will continue with entries including Ash Booker a former two times national champion and three times Victorian champion and last season’s club point score champion who will compete with two times point score champion Chris Fowler, Travis Florrimell, Benalla based racer Shawn Ward and last season’s B Grade class champion Mark Blackeby.

Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged six through to sixteen, children under six free and a family ticket is $60 for two adults and three kids over the age of six.

The gates to the public open from 2pm and racing begins from 5pm.
Public enquiries can be made to 0458 889 974

On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including
A1 Tyre Service
Alpine Truss
Alpine Drilling
Burson Auto Parts
Cashiee Wangaratta
Country Concrete
Creative Designs
Edge FM
Fallon’s Bus Services
Grimshaw Signs
Jabek Transport
Jim Snowdon
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
Mundie Automotive
McDonald’s Wangaratta
McGregor Machinery
North East Fasteners
O’Loughlin Contractor’s
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Solimo Towing
Snap on Albury
Vic Solimo
Tuff Tyres
Tailor Made Kitchens
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Ussher Plumbing and Contracting
Wangaratta Spring Works
Waw Credit Union
Wangaratta Club
Wangaratta Radiators
Wangaratta Brake and Clutch
Wangaratta Mazda

James Woods – Wangaratta 8
Caleb Lincoln – Alexandra 9
Jaidyn Dredge – Bendigo 13
Ian Thomsen – Alexandra 22
Joel Copeland – Corowa 23
Rhys Collins – Mount Beauty 27
Craig Cottier – W34 (Wangaratta)
Jay Nicolaisen –Wang34 (Wangaratta) 34
Jamie Paull – Nyora 42
Dennis Reid – Alexandra 54
Nathan Shortis – Wangaratta 55
Brendan Harper – Wangaratta 58
Matthew Brooks – Wangaratta 65
Micheal Van Den Born – Wangaratta 68
Josh Beattie – Wangaratta 72
Katie Meyer – Ballarat 76
Jamie Thomsen – Alexandra 80
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Josh Service – Alexandra 84
Garry Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84
Andrew Jordan – Alexandra 89

Chris Lack – Wangaratta 4
Trevor Mills – NSW 10
Benny Barker – Hamilton 13
Jack Bear – Corowa 19
Jaiden Healey – NSW 29
Stephen Laidlaw – Rosedale 30
Craig McAllister – NSW 32
Damien McAllister – ACT 32
Brendan Harper – Wangaratta 58
Tom Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Dinky Parker – Wangaratta 71
Dehne Sparrow – Hamilton 91
Ray Ussher – Wangaratta 98

Josh Delarue – Wangaratta 5
Warrick Howie – Wangaratta 7
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 8
Adam Brezovik- Mount Beauty 13
Brendan Eames – Corowa 16
Peter Homer – Wangaratta 44
Daryl Joosten – Corowa 46
Brendan Damico – Wangaratta 66
Trevor Evans – Wangaratta 67
Paul Campbell – Wangaratta 88

Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 8
Renah Pollard – Bendigo 13
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 16
Emily Mason – Wangaratta 65
Tay Cummins – Mount Beauty 69
Katie Meyer – Ballarat 76
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Nicole Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84

Cooper Lack – Wangaratta 4
Marcus Maclean – Corowa 7
Tom Little – Corowa 9
Riley Balins – Corowa 21
Toby Parks – Alexandra 36
Cobie McGraw – Corowa 39
Michael Sayers – Mount Beauty 69


Jack Ward – #4
Daniel Meredith – #8
Mark Blackeby – #10
Chris Fowler – #13
Matt Kamolins – #22
Shawn Ward – #44
Ashley Booker – #50
Travis Florrimell – #81

Daniel James – #3
Mark Hutchinson – #6
Mark Cecil – #7
Glen Wiles – #9
Louis Rodriguez – #11
Justin Pall – #12
Tania Hallett – #15
Matt Papa – #25
Andrew Wiles – #32
Duane Cordina – #41
Aaron Stubbs – #46
Michael Conway – #77

Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 5
Corey Foyle – NSW 5
Shane Ardley – Nyora 11
Greg Parks – Alexandra 36
Benny Cartwright – NSW 38
Christina Jones – NSW 59
Shane Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Darren Henderson – NSW 89

Ends Release……

Supplied by Speedcafe Contributor – DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist