30 JANUARY 2023


Sixteen-year-old Chris White Jnr of Prebbleton was the form driver during the Round 2 action of the Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series National Championship at Levels Raceway on the outskirts of Timaru on New Zealand’s South Island this weekend.

After taking the $500 Premier Insulation Pole Award and winning the first race of the round on Saturday, breaking the lap record in the process, he added a second place and another win in Sunday’s two races to take round honours and also increase his lead in the South Island Championship of which this was Round 3. He also maintained second spot in the national series, narrowing the points margin to championship leader Simon Baker of Wellington.

Saturday’s race had seen White Jnr win from Flynn Mullany of Auckland and Baker after a good battle between the trio.

Sunday’s opening race featured a reverse top ten grid and it was Aucklander Leo Bult who found himself on pole after struggling in Saturday’s wet qualifying and recovering to tenth in the opening race. On Sunday morning he led from lights to flag, putting in a good drive to win by 1.5 seconds from White Jnr who put in an exceptional drive to come through the field into second place. Baker was another who came through the field to finish third followed across the line by Sam Dashfield of Auckland and Matt Horne from Masterton.

South Canterbury favourite Brent ‘Bones’ Collins drove his older ‘Batman’ Mazda creditably to eighth place after being a non-starter due to electrical issues the previous day. Shane Paget of Rangiora had a spin during the race after contact with Aucklander Elton Wichman. After stopping to re-set the car Paget recorded a time just 3/10th’s of a second off White Jnr’s new lap record from the day before.

The third and final race of the weekend saw a good battle between White Jnr and Baker initially before White Jnr started building an impressive lead, ending the race over 3 seconds in front of Baker. Bult was third ahead of Warren Crowther (Auckland), Horne and Paget. The results gave White Jnr round honours with 128 points from Baker (114) and Bult (106).
Aucklander Flynn Mullany who had finished second in Saturday’s race took no part in Sunday’s races due to mechanical issues.

Several drivers were under the old lap record again on Sunday and despite very close, hard, door handle to door handle racing, there were few incidents and the racing was very clean.

With two national rounds now completed in the South Island, the next National Championship round is at Taupo International Motorsport Park over the weekend of 10-12 February, an event that also doubles as Round 3 of the North Island Championship. After initially not planning to contest the round, it is highly likely that Chris White Jnr will venture north to line up at Taupo. As the series prepares to head north Baker stills leads with 242 points from White Jnr who has moved to within 15 points of Baker. Warren Crowther sits third on 185 points.

White Jnr leads the South Island Championship with 333 points from Matt Dodd (277) with Paget third with 269 points.

(Points tables below)

Lindsay Beer
On behalf of the Nexen Tyre NZ Mazda Racing Series
021 351 499

For further information – Lindsay Dodd – 0274 383 997

Photograph – Leo Bult of Auckland #98 leads fellow Aucklander Sam Dashfield at the beginning of the Top Ten Reverse grid race during Round 2 of the Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series National Championship at Levels Raceway in Timaru at the weekend. Bult went on to win the race while Dashfield finished fourth – Please credit Neil Howie.

New Zealand Championship Points (after Round 2):
1: Simon Baker (Wellington) 242
2: Chris White Jnr (Prebbleton) 227
3: Warren Crowther (Auckland) 185
4=: Sam Dashfield (Auckland) 169
4=: Matt Dodd (Christchurch) 169
6: Dalan Price (Rangiora) 166
7: Elton Wichman (Auckland) 162
8: Matt Horne (Masterton) 153
9: Shane Paget (Rangiora) 151
10: Leo Bult (Auckland) 150
11: Phil Clemas (Auckland) 139
12: Steven Spear (Auckland) 138
13: Flynn Mullany (Auckland) 133
14=: Anthony Tork (Auckland) 124
14=: Steve Brown (Auckland) 124
16: Alex Canty (Auckland) 102
17: Karl Gaines (Auckland) 71
18: Brent (Bones) Collins (Timaru) 50

1: Ken Thompson (Dunedin)

1: Chris White Jnr (Prebbleton) 333
2: Matt Dodd (Christchurch) 277
3: Shane Paget (Rangiora) 269
4=: Matt Horne (Masterton) 267
4=: Dalan Price (Rangiora) 267
6: Simon Baker (Wellington) 242

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist