Winged Warriors return to Wangaratta this Saturday night

The formula one of Speedway is the Sprintcar category and this Saturday night Wangaratta City Raceway see’s the ‘Winged Warriors’ return to town to do battle in the latest round of the Victorian state series and some of the big names are in the line-up, including Albury based racer Grant Anderson.

Anderson won this past Saturday night in Moama and is a popular figure in the Riverina and North East as his father David was before him. Anderson will face competition from Daniel Pestka a South Australian making the trip over, Brett Milburn a racer who has won numerous Victorian state series or feature races, Grant Stansfield and Rhys Baxter.

Jesse Nicholas a Goulburn Valley racer is keen for a great showing locally as is Eddie Lumbar from Deniliquin who is a regular steerer in the Victorian scene. Fans will enjoy twenty plus racers flying around Wangaratta with victory on their mind. There may be spills, there will be thrills as Sprintcars dominate the action.

Supporting the Sprintcar main event will be some of our local heroes in the club sedan classes with Sports Sedans, Standard Saloons and Junior Sedans on the program.

Sports Sedan’s should have a great little battle between the likes of Caleb Lincoln, Brendan Harper and Martin Heiner. Lincoln is having a great season with consistently strong qualifying into finals, Harper is a Wangaratta local and has been fast at Wangaratta City Raceway this season whilst Heiner returns to the track having previously been a winner at Wangaratta.

In Standard Saloon action the Nissan Station Wagon at the hands of Yarrawonga racer Trevor Evans is the stand out however competition will come from Jaimi Barber, Michael Poole and Daryl Joosten all drivers from the North East region.

Marty Bassett, Marcus Maclean and Jordyn Tewkesbury will be amongst the battle for victory in the Junior Sedans this Saturday. Bassett and Tewkesbury both headed down to Daylesford last weekend for good results and Maclean has been tremendous up at Corowa and Wangaratta this season.

Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged six through to sixteen, children under six free and a family ticket is $60 for two adults and three kids over the age of six.

The gates to the public open from 2pm and racing begins from 5pm.
Public enquiries can be made to 0458 889 974

On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including
A1 Tyre Service
Alpine Truss
Alpine Drilling
Burson’s Auto Parts
Cashiee Wangaratta
Country Concrete
Creative Designs
Edge FM
Fallon’s Bus Services
Grimshaw Signs
Jabek Transport
Jim Snowdon
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
Mundie Automotive
McDonald’s Wangaratta
McGregor Machinery
North East Fasteners
O’Loughlin Contractor’s
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Solimo Towing
Snap on Albury
Vic Solimo
Tuff Tyres
Tailor Made Kitchens
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Ussher Plumbing and Contracting
Wangaratta Spring Works
Waw Credit Union
Wangaratta Club
Wangaratta Radiators
Wangaratta Brake and Clutch
Wangaratta Mazda

Domain Ramsey – Victoria 2
Tim Hutchins – Tasmania 7
Daniel Pestka – Darwin 7
Grant Anderson – Victoria 11
Luke Thomas – New South Wales 15
Andrew Hughes – Victoria 28
Terry Rankin – VA 29
Warren Ferguson – New South Wales 32
Warrick Taylor – VA 33
Ash Cook – VA 36
Eddie Lumbar – New South Wales 36
Darryl Atkinson – VA 37
Zac Pacchiarotta – NS 42
Tim Van Ginneken – Victoria 44
Adam King – Victoria 48
Jesse Nicholas – VA 50
Kevin Reeves – Victoria 63
David Aldersley – Victoria 64
Brett Milburn – Victoria 68
Marcus Green – Victoria 71
Brayden Parr – Victoria 77
Rhys Baxter – VA 81
Grant Stansfield – VA 88

James Woods – Wangaratta 8
Caleb Lincoln – Alexandra 9
Janie Patton – Wangaratta 17
Dennis Reid – Alexandra 54
Brendan Harper – Wangaratta 58
Micheal Van Born – Wangaratta 68
Jasmin Molloy – Ballarat 72
Kelly Lamb – Goulburn Valley 77
Garry Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84
Martin Heiner – Mount Beauty 98

Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 8
Adam Brezovik – Mount Beauty 13
Trevor Crilly – Swan Hill 15
Michael Poole – Corowa 41
Daryl Joosten – Corowa 46
Trevor Evans – Wangaratta 67
Paul Campbell – Wangaratta 88

Cooper Lack- Wangaratta 4
Marty Bassett – Corowa 6
Marcus Maclean – Corowa 7
Jordyn Tewkesbury – Wangaratta 53
Mia Lamb – Goulburn Valley – 77
Mackenzie Bunt – Corowa 85

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist