Speedway in West Gippsland returns this Sunday morning

After a long wait, Drouin Speedway will finally entertain again this Sunday when the 2020/2021 season kicks off with a sensational line-up of Junior Standard Saloon and Open Standard Saloon competitors nominated to compete along with Unlimited Sedans, Sports Sedans and Ladies Standard Saloons.

The Committee of the Drouin Speedway Club have been working hard during the pandemic with working bee’s to improve and maintain the facility and everything is now pristine and ready to host an eager crowd and new club supporters have contributed to offer up prizes to entice the Junior Sedan racers to come and compete.

Almost twenty Junior Standard Saloon racers are nominated for the big feature event the ‘Melbourne IT Junior Jam’ and many of the best drivers are already nominated in an event supported by the father of one of the race drivers, joe Otimi whom is the father of Hunter Carey. The Cecil brothers Owen and Harry will be in amongst the front runners as will be Drouin’s strongest Junior member of recent seasons Jack Yeoman’s.

Matt Shankland, Linken Paterson, Hunter Carey and Nathan and Maddison Miles along with Zac Barwise have all proven to be on a good pace also. Paterson is an unknown quantity in Standard Saloons, however is a proven winner in other cars, he could be the surprise on race day. Carey last weekend came fifth in Daylesford and has a new confidence about his standing in the field.

Open Standard Saloons at Drouin continue to attract impressive numbers in their fields. Thirty entrants will do battle to try and win the first Drouin trophy of the season. Jeff Blencowe and Leigh Gooding will renew their battles for club supremacy. They won’t have things all their own way, they will have to steer well to defeat the likes of the Walkinshaw car, Andrew and Ashley Cormack, Darwyn Lee, Mick Coomer, Luke King and Bobby Devine. Anything can happen and usually does at Drouin Speedway in Standard Saloons.

Sports Sedan drivers are still nominating to enter, however from those that already have Lee Beach, Jayde Aarts, Troy Glassborow and Gavan Dorain could all be at the head of the field when the chequered flag drops.

Tegan Bullard returns to a track she grew up racing on after a spell at becoming a mother. With family all healthy and going well Bullard returns to race in the Ladies Standard Saloon field where she will find some fresh new competition to race against. Rebecca Glassborow, Hayley Hutchins, Sharlene Laidlaw, Kate Stuchbery and Jemima Borkowski have all proven more than capable in the driver’s seat and with Laidlaw a recent winner at Bairnsdale; she will most certainly have some confidence.

Unlimited Sedans have been a hit at Drouin Speedway. The club actually is gathering a strong membership base from the drivers that compete in the class and with Darren Nelson a very strong competitor racing this weekend the fans are sure to enjoy the Unlimiteds. Daryl Nicolson, Stan Brown fresh from a top five result at Wangaratta last weekend and Ian Page a hard charger in a Nissan are just some of the entrants to watch.

Gates open from 8.30am. Racing starts at 11am.

Entry will cost $15 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $10 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for 2 adults

Drouin Speedway Club acknowledge and thank these wonderful supporters;
Alberni Engineering
Baw Baw Shire
Bottom Pub Bunyip
Bowens Pakenham
Bunyip Bakery
Bunyip Tyre Service
Elite Cranes & Transport
Keena Fencing
Kennards Pakenham
Latrobe Waste & Recycling
Leigh & Anne Gooding
Mepstead Lawyers
Mighty Doors
Miles Mechanical
Melbourne IT Support
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Napier Photography
Nar Nar Goon Automotive
Random Panda Photography
STR8 Bricklaying
TNT Autos
Visual Signage Solutions
Wilkar Constructions

Nominations for Sunday are
Tegan Bullard – Alexandra 4
Daniel/Clint Walkinshaw – Drouin 5
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Craig Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Mark Borkowski – Drouin 17
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Wayne Tooze – Drouin 22
Aaron Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Aaron Evans – Drouin 24
Leigh Glassborow – Nyora 26
Nick Harnett – Rosedale 29
Steven/Shannon Overton – Bairnsdale 36
Wayne Gibson – Drouin 41
Russell Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 42
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Anthony Murray – Drouin 48
Wayne Martin – Nyora 61
Troy Cormack – Bairnsdale 71
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Mick Coomer – Drouin 76
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Garry Charles – Rosedale 79
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Tim McKenzie – Bairnsdale 92
Ash Dean – Nyora 95
Luke King – Nyora 96
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97

Tyler McDermott – Rosedale 5
Jack Stewart – Rosedale 6
Cooper Joynson – Drouin 6
Tom/Jack Braz – Bairnsdale 11
Nathan Miles – Nyora 12
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Cody Drennan – Nyora 20
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 24
Beau Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 24
Nathalya Westwood – Rosedale 28
Owen Cecil – Nyora 30
Zac Barwise – Colac 32
Sharni Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 32
Matt Shankland – Nyora 46
Tasharni Murray – Nyora 48
Harry Cecil – Nyora 56
Deon Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
Linken Paterson – Alexandra 69
Chloe Coomer – Drouin 76
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Tegan Bullard – Alexandra 4
Jemima Borkowski – Drouin 13
Rebecca Glassborow – Nyora 16
Imogene Drennan – Nyora 20
Hayley Hutchins – Nyora 23
Sharlene Laidlaw – Drouin 41
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Jodie Donelly – Bairnsdale 92

Troy Glassborow – Nyora 16
Chris Aarts – Nyora 24
Jayde Aarts – Nyora 25
Gavan Dorain – Rosedale 49
Bianca Brown – Alexandra 68
Lee Beach – Alexandra 88

Darren Nelson – Drouin 8
Daryl Nicolson – Drouin 22
Stan Brown – Drouin 23
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 24
Graeme Nugent – Ballarat 27
Mick Evans – Nyora 31
Ian Page – Rosedale 72
Travis Ramsdale – Nyora 99

Ends Release

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist