Big feature after big feature on Saturday at Mid – Western Speedway

This Saturday from 11:30 am Mid-Western Speedway plays host to a huge day of awesome Speedway action that includes a tribute race to late former Mortlake man Brendan Hannabury, a memorial for the Skipton legend Col Grist, a track championship, and the fast and furious points events for the Formula 500s.

Competitors for the Hanno Tribute race have been received from South Australia and right across Victoria. Dean Jenkins, Morris Ahearn, Sam Brumfield whose coming from South Australia, Ricky Throckmorton from Colac, Peter Kinnear, Chris Hay, Troy Hose, Jayden Blomeley, David Barrie, Jenson Wilson, and Timothy Hutchinson. There is over twenty entrants and there is a great likelihood of the winner coming from this list. A number of entrants would be a popular winner of the event due to being from the South-West or through association to Brendan prior to his passing.

A terrific Super Rod line-up includes Victorian champion Jacob Pitcher, Jamie May, Allan Pitcher, Neville Gange, Stan Marco Jnr, and Dane Court are all in the field for what will be a terrific battle for the prestigious Col Grist Memorial. Jacob Pitcher is representing his number one status well however through family connections, Dane Court has his eyes on the prize this Saturday more than most. Watch for Neville Gange, always exciting on track.

In Standard Saloon action following up from the Gold Helmet feature two weeks ago, Coby McCabe from the Portland club is back to chase the Track Championship prize also. He will have tough competition from Andrew Cormack, Aaron Cormack, Nathan Hutchins, Dean Pedersen, and Bailey Sinclair are just some of the drivers that McCabe will need to hold back if he is to take back-to-back victories.

A small yet competitive field of Formula 500’s have nominated to compete with some great competitors from Warrnambool across to Geelong in the field. Terry Rankin, Brooke Buckingham, and Liam Russell are a few drivers with several strong results to hand whilst new drivers to the adult ranks of F500s this season such as Dylan Anton and Jett Hart have an opportunity to secure a podium result. In the Junior category of the class Aston Rodrigues, Koby O’Shannassy and Hugo Chivell stand out as front runners for their racing.

Gates for competitors open at 8am and to the public at 10am Racing begins at 11:30 with a 4 to 5pm finish planned. No Eftpos on facility, Cash only, No BYO Alcohol and No fires to be lit around the track. Canteen open from 10am.

For general enquiries about the Speedway contact Paul on 0400 565 014

Admission will cost adults 15years and over $20 and aged and disabled pensioners $20, A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 15 or a Junior driver competing on the night aged 16, costs $45 dollars. Children between the age of 10 to 15 or a Junior competing driver are $10, Children Under the age of ten are free.

Mortlake Speedway Club would like to thank the following for their support.
Brooklyn Car Sales – Wendouree
Mortlake Roadhouse
Camperdown Truck & Ag
Gilberts Truck & Tractor Service – Camperdown
O’Leary Ag Contracting, Camperdown
PWS Fabrications – Geelong
The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool
West Vic Tyres – Mortlake
Olsson Timing Services
Camperdown Auto Pro
Barkley Waste Collections – Colac

Jack Jordan – Swan Hill 4
Dean Jenkins – Redline 4
Morris Ahearn – Nyora 4
Sam Brumfield – South Australia 5
Tristan Hunt – Portland 11
Ellen Vagg – Simpson 12
Ricky Throckmorton – Colac 18
Dylan Wilkinson – Laang 24
Nathan Hutchins – Hamilton 25
Ash Fox – Geelong 29
Peter Kinnear – Warrnambool 35
Chris Hay – Warrnambool 42
Shaun Jenkins – Redline 49
Jacob Kelly – Geelong 51
Daniel Lawn – South Australia 56
Troy Hose – Laang 57
Daniel Pimlett – South Australia 59
Jayden Blomeley – Ballarat 62
David Barrie – Colac 83
Graeme Price – Warrnambool 87
Jenson Wilson – Colac 88
Timothy Hutchinson – Daylesford 88
Hayden Glare – Swan Hill 96

Jacob Pitcher – Victoria 1
Jamie May – Warrnambool 8
Allan Pitcher – Avalon 10
Jamie Ackland – Hamilton 11
Adrian Rieck – Avalon 12
Troy Kelly – Warrnambool 27
Jason Poustie – Simpson 48
Peter Duynhoven – Simpson 53
Neville Gange – Laang 56
Stan Marco Snr – Avalon 75
Stan Marco Jnr – Avalon 77
Bailey Pitcher – Avalon 82
Dane Court – Hamilton 96

Jacob Head – Ballarat 9
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Nathan Hutchins – Hamilton 25
Charmaine Bryans – Nyora 26
Sammy Dunn – Portland 33
Coby McCabe – Portland 39
Greg Hutchins – Hamilton 41
Sean Rogers – Ballarat 56
Joshua Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Dylan Shelton – Portland 69
Dean Pedersen – Daylesford 73
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Ian Walsh – Ballarat 86
Bailey Sinclair – Ballarat 96
Brad Sheppard – Ballarat 99

Terry Rankin – Victoria 3
Dylan Anton – Queensland 20
Jack Nolan – Victoria 27
Jesse Ellston – Victoria 35
Daniel Burleigh – Victoria 36
Chad Bell – Victoria 46
Tom Moulden – Victoria 53
Brooke Buckingham – Victoria 54
Liam Russell – Victoria 55
Jett Hart – Victoria 98

Hugo Chivell – Victoria 7
Aston Rodrigues – Victoria 30
Zac Stevens – Victoria 53
Koby O’Shannassy – Victoria 60
Evie Bell – Victoria 69

Ends Release

Media written by DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist