Drivers prepare for Tassie title clash

A dozen of Tasmania’s best Wingless Sprint racers are about to converge on Carrick Speedway this Saturday night in an effort to overcome their rivals and emerge victorious in this season’s running of the Tasmanian Title, supported by Webster Trucks.Drivers Prepare for Tassie Title Clash

Having been one of the form drivers throughout his home state this season, racking up no less than six feature-race wins so far and also managing to qualify into the recent Australian Championship-deciding feature race, current and two-time Tasmanian Champion Luke Redpath may well be the hot favourite heading into Saturday night’s event.

However, it won’t be all smooth sailing for Redpath as he chases a hat trick of victories, being pitted against a number of other likely contenders.

Piloting the Tas # 21 car owned by Joe Turnbull, Brad Whitchurch will no doubt be one of Redpath’s main challengers. Collecting a trio of feature-race wins this season, Whitchurch has also visited the podium on numerous occasions in the minor positions, proving that consistency is a strength – one that he’ll be hoping to put into practice on Saturday night.

After coming home third in last season’s running of the Tasmanian Title following a late-race charge, Brad Walkley will be hoping to improve on that result this time around, while regular podium-getter Jamie Rolls will also be in with a good chance to pick up some silverware.

Bringing an international flavour to the event, Queenslander Scott Thomsen will be filling the driver’s seat in the Tim McKinnell-owned Tas # 24 car. With two Queensland Titles under his belt, Thomsen has proven that he has what it takes to withstand the pressure of title events and he’ll be hoping to take advantage of the rest of the field’s unfamiliarity with his driving style when he travels to the Apple Isle.

Stepping onto the podium twice in the early stages of the season with a pair of third-place finishes, Jacob Goodluck will be looking to repeat that form throughout the Tasmanian Title, as will a host of drivers, including Josh Padman, Troy Lewis, Jason Taylor, Nick Curtain, Samuel Laing and Jake Power, each of whom will be hoping to fare well.

The format for the Webster Trucks Tasmanian Title will see drivers contest three rounds of 10-lap heat races, before the all-important 25-lap Tasmanian Title-deciding feature race.

The AWSR would like to thank Webster Trucks for their support of the Tasmanian Wingless Sprint Title. Established in 2007, Webster Trucks offers a wide range of heavy trucks across four brands: Isuzu, Mack, UD and Volvo. With facilities located in Hobart, Launceston, Devonport and Burnie, Webster Trucks has the most extensive retail network of service and parts outlets in Tasmania. To find out more about Webster Trucks, visit their website at

For more information about the AWSR, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook or Follow them on Instagram and Twitter by searching Australian Wingless Sprint Racing.

Tasmanian Wingless Sprint Title Nominations (12):
T7 Josh Padman
T8 Troy Lewis
T10 Luke Redpath
T20 Jason Taylor
T21 Brad Whitchurch
T24 Scott Thomsen
T41 Nick Curtain
T44 Jacob Goodluck
T47 Samuel Laing
T83 Jamie Rolls
T87 Brad Walkley
T99 Jake Power

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist