Standard saloons, unlimited sedans and ramp cars highlight Drouin Speedway

This Sunday at Drouin Speedway, Standard Saloon racing in particular will feature with the annual Eliminator Cup feature event for the class supported by the last chance for Unlimited Sedans to compete on the venue before their Victorian title and another dose of Ramp Car racing will keep everybody happy down Jindivick Road.STANDARD SALOONS, UNLIMITED SEDANS AND RAMP CARS HIGHLIGHT DROUIN SPEEDWAY

Ladies and Junior Standard Saloon racing will also be terrific with great car counts amongst the Sedan classes for the day in every class.

Twenty Nine Standard Saloons have entered the Eliminator Cup where the feature event qualifiers will compete racing in one direction trying to avoid elimination before turning around and doing the same and then having one last direction change to finish off the race chasing the money, for those that remain.

Jeff Blencowe has wins on the board already this season in the class and he sets the benchmark along with recent Daylesford winner Russell Hill. Both those drivers have wins against tough competition early in the season. Brendon Eames will come from Corowa to compete after having won at Wangaratta two weeks ago, and Leigh Gooding and Victor Benson are two veterans that know every inch of Drouin Speedway and will be incredibly hard to beat here.

Travis Evans, Steve Danks, Stephen Douglas, Kane Gibson, Hanna Domburg, Sean Connolly, John Watson are all other drivers who make this a tough field to win in. What a fantastic field.

The Unlimited Sedans are keen to go on Sunday also with a field of ten entrants nominating in what will be their last chance to sort out some set ups for Drouin before their Victorian title later in the summer. Sean Lister will bring some huge engine power in his machine whilst at the other end in a car powered by a Barra Motor from Ford, Peter Cox might be the one to beat as he has mastered getting around the Drouin Speedway.

Daniel Unternahrer has a win on the board this season he and Scott Ellis are another couple strong competitors as is Daryl Nicolson. Warrick Taylor will compete in a FJ Holden and it will be interesting to see how he goes in an unfamiliar race car.

In Junior Standard Saloon racing Jack Yeomans will drop in after racing at Alexandra the night before, Nathan Miles, the Cecil Brothers and Madison Miles will come direct from Nyora the night before and a number of new this season drivers will get some valuable experience and track time on Sunday.

In Ladies Racing Natasha Curtis, Tahlia Campbell, Bree Campbell and Jemima Borkowski are likely to have a great battle as they try and earn the winner’s trophy in the Standard Saloon Ladies event and the crazy racers in the Ramp Racing class will have a go and bring laughter to the crowd as the Ramp sends them flying. There are a few nominations including Darwyn Lee, Travis Evans and Leigh Mitchell amongst them.

Gates open from 8am. Racing starts at 11am.

Entry will cost $15 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $10 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 to 16 will cost $40.

General enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133

Drouin Speedway Clubs proud sponsors are;
Alberni Engineering,
Baw Shire
Berwick Legal
Bottom Pub Bunyip
Bunyip Bakery
Flight Centre Warragul
Keena Fencing
Latrobe Waste and Recycling
Leigh and Anne Gooding
Longwarry Meatsafe
Mighty Doors
Miles Mechanical
Monckton Concrete
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Napier Photography
Nar Nar Goon Automotive
On Site Medical Response
Random Panda Photography
S S Plastering and Painting
STR8 Bricklaying
TNT Auto Parts
Victorian Crane Trucks
Visual Signage Solutions
Wilkar Constructions

John Watson – Drouin 4
Sean Connolly – Bendigo 5
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Hanna Domburg – Portland 15
Corey Attard – Alexandra 15
Brendon Eames – Corowa 16
Mark Borkowski – Drouin 17
Steve Mitchell – Rosedale 19
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Aaron Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Scott Deville – Nyora 24
Russell Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 24
Matt Saunders – Nyora 28
Russell Hill – Nyora 29
Ben Grey – Drouin 37
Kane Gibson – Rosedale 41
Wayne Gibson – Drouin 41
Darywn Lee – Drouin 45
Anthony Murray – Drouin 48
Mick Coomer – Drouin 76
Travis Evans – Drouin 77
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Jason McKean – Rosedale 81
Victor Benson – Drouin 96
Steven Danks – Rosedale 96
Stephen Douglas – Nyora 44

Sean Lister – Victoria 2 (Redline)
Warrick Taylor – Nyora 7
Daryl Nicolson – Drouin 22
Johnny Young – Rosedale 25
Mick Evans – Nyora 31
Scott Ellis – Alexandra 42
Wayne Eames – Corowa 51
Peter Cox – Nagambie 62
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83
Daniel Unternahrer – Alexandra 86

Cooper Joynson – Drouin 6
Zoe Hunt – Nyora 10
Kaine Smith – Moe 11
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 12
Nathan Miles – Nyora 12
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Beau Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 24
Owen Cecil – Nyora 30
Harry Cecil – Nyora 56
Tasharni Murray – Drouin 48
Deon Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
Chloe Coomer – Drouin 76
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Natasha Curtis – Bairnsdale 10
Jemima Borkowski – Drouin 13
Bree Campbell – Rosedale 13
Kayla Saunders – Nyora 28
Sharlene Laidlaw – Drouin 41
Tahlia Campbell – Rosedale 44
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78

Ends Release.

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist