Young kart star wins SpeedSport Scholarship

Liam Lawson. pic:
Liam Lawson. pic: Geoff Ridder 

MEDIA RELEASE: international – Young karting champion Liam Lawson out performed six other finalists to win the annual SpeedSport Scholarship on Sunday, May 24.

The 13-year-old from Pukekohe High School became the youngest-equal winner of New Zealand’s premiere young driver development program, on a weekend when three of it’s most successful previous winners tasted international glory.

Lawson was a leading contender for the $50,000 prize package from the moment the elimination rounds started at the Manfeild race circuit and put in a commanding performance both on and off track to win the scholarship on it’s 15th anniversary.

“Liam showed an ability beyond his years and we’re confident we’ve discovered another very special young driver,” says SpeedSport Scholarship co-founder Dennis Martin.

The Pukekohe teenager started karting at the Mt Wellington track in Auckland when he was 7-years-old, winning a host of national titles along the way.

Lawson is the same age as 2001 winner Nic Jordan.

The runner-up prize was won by Ari Pettigrew, 16, from Rangiora who came to the scholarship from a background in grass karting.

The weekend was made even more special for the SpeedSport Scholarship founders with triple NZ Grand Prix winner and TRS champion Nick Cassidy winning a Formula 3 race in Japan, V8 Supercar star Shane van Gisbergen drove his team’s factory McLaren to victory at Silverstone, England and GP2 rookie Richie Stanaway won the Formula One support race at the Monaco Grand Prix and dedicated his win to the SpeedSport Scholarship.

“We couldn’t have asked for a better weekend on our anniversary,” said Martin, who’s Sabre Motorsport team run the winner in the New Zealand Formula First championship.

Lawson will begin his car racing career in two weeks time when he lines up for the Manfeild Winter Series as preparation for the national series later in the year.

The SpeedSport Scholarship winner receives an all expenses paid year racing 12 events in a Formula First car under the guidance and tuition of Martin, including the Manfeild Winter Series and the New Zealand Formula First championship.

A personalised race suit, boots and racing gloves are provided to the winner from Chicane.


2001 Nic Jordan
2002 Joshua Hart
2003 Mark Russ
2004 Shane van Gisbergen
2005 Andrew Waite
2006 Alastair Wootten
2007 Richie Stanaway
2008 Aaron Hodgson
2009 Nick Cassidy
2010 Hayden Pedersen
2011 Malcolm Finch
2012 Aaron Marr
2013 James Webb
2014 Brook Reeve
2015 Liam Lawson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist