Daylesford Drivers Association host Junior Victorian title this Sunday

Daylesford Drivers Association this Sunday will get its Speedway back underway as they work through the remaining race dates of their season at the Darlington based Mid-Western Speedway complex.

A recent attempt to continue the season was thwarted by weather whilst this weekend looks to be all good for racing on Sunday with the big Victorian Junior 1200cc state title conclusion the main event after drivers start their racing for the title event on the Saturday. A first ever Victorian champion in the class under the governance of the Victorian Speedway Council will see host club favourite’s like Arthur Hutchinson and Riley Taylor, plus fellow Daylesford members Bella Hartup, Holly Hutchinson and Amiley Botheras compete against tough competition from around Victoria.

Arthur Hutchinson is the winningest driver in the class since it began, however Braidan Webster, Ella Sheedy, Bryce Leek and Xander Baxter are all more than capable of success this Sunday in the big event.

Daylesford’s own member classes will also complete including the Modifieds, the Street Stocks, Juniors and Ladies Sedans.

In Modifieds Daniel Carter is the driver to beat with Brad Trainor, Ryan Daly, Ian Bartlett, Steven Warlond just some of the entrants with victory in their sights. In the Daylesford Street Stock class Glenn McCoubrie has been at every meeting and consistent all season, however he will have to do battle with Nathan Hutchins, Dylan Wilkinson, David Clark, Des Robinson and Anthony Bull amongst others, picking a winner is tough in the Street Stocks.

Blaize Majok-Edwards is the most experienced of Daylesford’s Juniors and is the lead nomination on Sunday with Blair Botheras, Peyton Edwards-Daly and Noah Basten his challengers. Whilst in the Ladies Richelle Warlond is up against Marlena Argent, Shelby Higginbottom, Charmaine Bryans and Vicky Alford. Richelle has strong results this season.

The Standard Saloons are competing the day prior in a major feature event for the Mortlake Speedway Club on the same track. On Sunday, the likes of Ashley Cormack, Luke King, Austin Chivers, Arron Cormack, Nathan Hutchins, Cody McCabe, Dean Pederson, Lachie Chivers, Aaron Meakins, Jacob Head and Rick Stowe will provide plenty of thrills in a hotly contested afternoon of racing.

Filling the days program is the Aces of Spades Club in their vintage sedans mostly comprising of 1930’s Ford’s with other cars up into the 1950’s. They are entertaining in their own right and the drivers put some spirit into their demonstration of racing.

The Canteen and some terrific vendors at the club will be operational Sunday.

General enquiries on 0408 5439 694 or 0449 107 863

Entry for all adults for is $20 to enter, Life members & aged pensioners are $15. Children 10 to 16 are $10 each and ten and under are free, $45 family ticket.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Daylesford Speedway Facebook page.

Racing begins at 11.30am and the gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.00am and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 10.30.

Daylesford Drivers Association trading as Daylesford Speedway would like to thank the following supporters:

Major Sponsors
Rusty Cars Downunder
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
J Tow

O’Toole Signs – Daylesford
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4 x 4
Dean Miller Photography
Decci Racing
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Rhett’s Auto’s and Towing
Courtot & Co Automotive
G.B Fasteners – Ballarat
Kilmore Towing & Transport
The Royal Hotel Bacchus Marsh

Libby Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 4
Braidan Webster – Alexandra 5
Rebecca Johnstone – Horsham 7
Ty Claridge – Goulburn Valley 8
Andrew Mitchell – Nagambie 11
Billy McBride – Alexandra 13
Bella Hartup – Daylesford 18
Ella Sheedy – Drouin 21
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Riley Taylor – Daylesford 22
Bryce Leek – Drouin 21
Chase Doherty – Nyora 31
Ryder Taylor – Nyora 43
Eliza Taylor – Daylesford 52
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 58
Xander Baxter – Nagambie 69
Amiley Botheras – Daylesford 77
Holly Hutchinson- Daylesford 80
Jess O’Donnell – Nyora 96

Brad Trainor – 12
Graham Smith – 15
Brad Cadzow – 22
Derek Higginbottom – 26
Ryan Daly – 33
Ian Bartlett – 34
Wade Justice – 63
Daniel Carter – 73
Steven Warlond – 87

Nathan Hutchins – 25HA
Dylan Wilkinson – 24L
Riley Noonan – 27
David Clark – 36
Des Robinson – 63
Glenn McCoubrie – 66
Anthony Bull – 88
Jamie Angwin – 92

Blair Botheras – 18
Blaize Majok- Edwards – 33
Peyton Edwards Daly – 35
Noah Basten – 92

Marlena Argent – 12
Shelby Higginbottom – 26
Charmaine Bryans – 26N
Vicky Alford – 35
Richalle Warlond – 87

Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Luke King – Nyora 16
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Nathan Hutchins – Hamilton 25
Charmaine Bryans – Nyora 26
Cody McCabe – Portland 39
Sean Oakes Rogers – Ballarat 56
Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Dean Pederson – Daylesford 73
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Aaron Meakins – Daylesford 82
Ian Walsh – Ballarat 86
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist